51Y+KDPFq9L._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

Book Review: On Pastoring, by H. B. Charles

Review by Juan Sanchez | 03.09.2017

Have you ever wanted to sit down with a trusted pastor, ask lots of questions, and listen to the answers he’s gleaned over 25 years of pastoral ministry experience?

76341

Book Review: When Heaven Invades Earth, by Bill Johnson

Review by David Schrock | 03.01.2017

When Trinity-eroding, Christ-denying, gospel-subverting error is published, we ought not shy away from declaring a teacher or teaching as heretical.

41jeajBet1L._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

Book Review: The Blessed Life, by Robert Morris

Review by David Schrock | 02.27.2017

I don’t believe Morris is deliberately twisting Scripture, but his faulty, self-referential, story-telling, proof-texting approach leads him to doctrines and practices that are errant for the disciple, if not downright dangerous.

9780801097713

Book Review: The Pastor as Public Theologian, by Kevin Vanhoozer and Owen Strachan

Review by Jeff Mooney | 02.23.2017

There’s nothing more theological than the practical shepherding of Christ’s people, and there’s nothing more practical than robust theological thinking and speaking to Christ’s people.

9781493401574

Book Review: Growing God’s Church, by Gary McIntosh

Review by Matt Felton | 02.13.2017

But chasing after what works can become intoxicating Why? Precisely because it works! In fact, it can become so intoxicating that many pastors run right past the safety of God’s Word.

www-mardel

Book Review: Helping without Hurting in Church Benevolence, by Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert

Review by Nathan Carter | 01.11.2017

If your church is seeking to build a benevolence ministry that’s biblical and informed by best practices, then this little book will be an indispensable resource.

419-jj30c5l-_sx314_bo1204203200_

Book Review: Devoted to God, by Sinclair Ferguson

Review by Paul Alexander | 12.06.2016

As we’ve come to expect, Sinclair Ferguson’s new book points us to the gospel, to our identity in Christ, and to all that Jesus is for us for the purpose of making us more like him.

410jtprrhzl-_sx337_bo1204203200_

Book Review: What Grieving People Wish You Knew, by Nancy Guthrie

Review by Eric Beach | 11.22.2016

Many Christians and church leaders spend time interacting with grieving people or equipping their congregations to care for those around them who are grieving. Consequently, this book is especially pertinent for pastors.

9781587433931

Book Review: Biblical Authority after Babel, by Kevin Vanhoozer

Review by Bobby Jamieson | 11.07.2016

I recommend this book to anyone committed to the Reformation, questioning the Reformation, or opposed to the Reformation

product_thumbnail

Book Review: Church Planting Thresholds, by Clint Clifton

Review by Garrett Kell | 10.27.2016

This resource will be among the books our church planters will spend time reading in the future. I happily recommend it.

41xsosnsyyl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Book Review: Calling on the Name of the Lord: A Biblical Theology of Prayer, by J. Gary Millar

Review by Paul Alexander | 9Marks Journal: The Church Praying | 10.14.2016

Why pray certain things? Because the Bible tells you to from cover to cover. This book will simplify, motivate, and focus your own prayer life.

41h1n8hrw4l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Book Review: Praying Together, by Megan Hill

Review by Erin Wheeler | 09.27.2016

Are you someone who struggles to pray? Read this book. Are you someone who wonders whether it’s worth the often costly sacrifice to join mid-week with other saints to pray? Read this book.

41wtjey0vil

Book Review: Being There, by Dave Furman

Review by Paul Martin | 09.12.2016

This excellent new book is a how-to manual to care for the hurting.

{4DC27C46-CF99-4458-B3B3-E0B2A99CE5D0}Img400

Book Review: Rhythms of Grace, by Mike Cosper

Review by Matt Damico | 09.06.2016

It can be tempting to try to create or manufacture “experiences” for our people. But years of thoughtfully planned services with Word-centered content will bear more fruit than sporadic highs.

689891

Book Review: Search, by William Vanderbloemen

Review by Chris Brauns | 08.19.2016

The crying need of churches in our day is biblical shepherds who are passionately committed to our King and the authority of his Word. This book, unfortunately, doesn’t challenge churches in this regard.