VIII. 门训辅导

书评:《悲伤的人希望你知道什么》,南希·格思里著

Review
2019-04-23

原文标题与链接:Book Review: What Grieving People Wish You knew by Nancy Guthrie

翻译:申佳可

 

南希·格思里(Nancy Guthrie)的新书《悲伤的人们希望你知道什么能真正帮助他们(以及什么能真正伤害他们)》(What grief People Wish You know What Really help and What Really hurt)是个人化的、实用的、教牧性的读物。许多基督徒和教会领袖花时间与悲伤的人互动,或装备他们的会众以关心周围那些悲伤的人。因此,这本书特别适合牧师。

概要

这本书是根据南希·格思里在多次试炼中的经验,以及对其他经历过失去的人进行的调查写成的。她广泛地引用了这些调查结果,通过使用他人的话来帮助自己阐明观点。

这本书非常具有实用性和个人化,分为七章,讨论了与悲伤的人互动的本质。

1. 什么该说(以及什么不该说)

格思里指出,在他人的痛苦中保持沉默十分困难,因为它实质上否认了他人的痛苦和失去(20)。她还提出了其他一些实践性的观点,比如不要将自己的苦难与当事人作比较,不要匆匆忙忙,要认真倾听,要回避潜在的能引发痛苦的问题。例如,如果一个朋友的儿子自杀了,南希建议读者不要询问他死亡的具体细节。

2. 人们常常会说的一些话(与之相反,你应该说什么)

格思里在这一章的前半部分列举了一些人们常说的但毫无帮助的话:“我知道你的感受”……“你会没事的”……“你可以有更多的孩子”……“嗯,至少……”“你不觉得是时候向前看了吗?” ……“我想上帝在天堂里比我们在这里更需要他。”

在第二部分中,她概述了一些处理这些痛苦的有益方法。例如,在所爱的人去世后,她建议向哀悼逝者的人分享对逝者的积极记忆。在整本书中,格思里强调了将逝去之人的价值传达给正为他悲痛之人的重要性。

3. 那些错误的假设,使我们无法更亲近受伤的人(以及为什么我们应该单单陪伴)

她还列举了一些无益的假设,让我们无法与那些悲伤的人拉近距离。在这一章中,她用一句话总结了她的信息,并精辟地概括了与那些悲伤之人打交道的经历:“如果我必须把整本书的信息浓缩为一个词,这一个词很可能涵盖了它:‘出现’在受苦之人的身边(69)。格思里接着讨论了人们逃避出现的常见原因,比如不太了解遭受痛苦的人,或者不确定该说些什么。

4. 什么该做(以及什么不该做)

在前面讲了一些有益和无益的话之后,这一章着重于行动。它充满了具体的例子,一个人可以做些什么来帮助那些悲伤的人。例如,她提倡多听少说,放弃一些你不同意的事情,留个便条,发个消息,在日历上做个记号来纪念一个人的忌日,或者帮着准备一份经济上的礼物来纪念去世的人。

5. 社交媒体和悲伤(当“点赞”按钮似乎错了)

第五章是关于如何通过社交媒体与悲伤之人互动的问题。她认为,即使只是给公开展示的悲伤点一个“赞”的小举动,也可以在表达同情心方面大有帮助。她认为“你的沉默听起来像是不赞成,甚至是厌恶,并且制造了难以克服的距离”(126)。

6. 让我们谈谈“谈论天国”(以及地狱)

在讨论具体的神学中的天国,以及如何与那些为失去爱人而悲痛的人联系起来之前,格思里所给与的观察毫无疑问在我自己的经历中得到验证:“在我们所爱之人逝去的这件事上,给我们的礼物之一就是让我们更多地去思想永恒的事物。我们意识到这一现实,今生的生活并不是一切。”接着,她对天国提出了一些看法:(1)我们无法了解另一个人内心生活的全部现实(131)。(2)上帝总是做对的事情(132)。(3)上帝的本性是仁慈的。她说,尽管社群总是在情感上更倾向于人人进天国,但我们不能假定每个人永远地在天国里与上帝同在 (129)。此外,她还提供了一个有用的警告,提醒人们不要求助于那些自称比圣经所揭示的更了解天国的人所写的书。

7. 一些简单的问题(以及答案)

在最后一章,这本书解决了一些实际的问题,比如如何把圣经编织进你对他人的安慰中,而不让你听起来像是在说教。此外,她还讨论了去思考一个人的悲伤是处在抑郁之中,还是仅仅经历了一种健康的对苦难的感知。

优点

《悲伤的人希望你知道什么》有很多优点,但有三点特别突出:实用性、个人化和教牧式。

实用性

这本书非常实用,因为它包含了可以做和说的具体例子,同时提到了我们应该避免去做或说的事情。此外,她通过引用调查参与者的话,复述了无数个故事,提供了各种各样的体验。这让读者能够抓住不同的故事,从而更接近自己的经历。

此外,格思里简单的写作风格意味着任何人都可以拿起这本书,并立即受益。不需要高等知识或预先阅读。十几岁的孩子也可以在几个小时内读完它,并发现很有用处。

最后,这本书还涵盖了人们在与悲伤的人交流时遇到的许多问题。虽然她的书并不力求面面俱到,但它确实提出了一系列广泛的问题。

个人化

格思里的书对她自己和读者来说都是非常个人化的。她讲述了失去两个孩子的故事,读起来令人心碎。这本书不可避免地具有情绪化,尤其是当你的脑海中萦绕着失去,或者你个人对上面提到的经历产生共鸣的时候。

在我读这本书的时候,格思里写的很多东西都与我和妻子的个人经历有关,那是在我们的儿子在怀孕晚期意外死亡之后。例如,当人们因为不知道该说什么而尴尬地回避时,我妻子感到很受伤。当人们以我们儿子的名义写卡片和送礼物时,我深受感动。

顺便提一句,格思里的书《听耶稣诉说你的悲伤》(Hearing Jesus Speak Into Your Sorrow , Tyndale, 2009) 是我在儿子死后读到的关于苦难的最好的书之一。《悲伤的人希望你知道什么》同样充满了谦卑和恩慈。格思里指出,在她的生活中,她有时也会犯许多她极力反对的错误。因此,她的书使那些同样做过类似事情的人十分蒙恩。

教牧性

格思里的书也是教牧性的书籍。显然,她关心的是如何引导那些悲伤的人,在指引他们在基督里有希望的同时,对他们表现出真诚的关怀。同样,她对这些苦难的现实表现出敏感。

弱点

没有足够强调每个人是不同的,且以不同的方式悲伤

虽然南希提到“对一个人有帮助和有意义的事情可能是另一个人不想要的,甚至是讨厌的”(25)和“没有一刀切的语言或行为”(25),但这一点在全书中并没有得到充分说明。考虑到我们大多数人都有公式化的和三步解决方案的倾向,更加规律地提醒人们:我们需要更多的智慧,才能明白与遭受痛苦的人互动的最佳方式。虽然南希的书不是一本手册,而是一套指导原则,但这一点值得进一步强调。

过于关注那些痛失爱人的人们

虽然这种类型的失去是我发现自己所处的情况,但在地方教会中的服侍提醒我,失去的广度是广泛的,悲痛的深度是深刻的。格思里的书虽然避免了一刀切的方法,但它本可以把更多的注意力放在不涉及死亡的情况上:人们因长期疾病失去健康而感受到的悲伤,那些因不想要的离婚而感受到的痛苦,被虐待的后遗症,以及很多很多。

结论

尽管如此,《悲伤的人希望你知道什么》是一本对任何人都有帮助的书。虽然这本书读起来很短,但是书中所讨论的情感和属灵上的工作将会持续一生。


许可声明:你可以各种形式使用、复制与分发本文,但不允许修改文中内容(更正翻译错误除外),不允许收取超过复制成本的费用,并且分发不得超过1000个拷贝。如果要在网络或邮件中转贴,请务必保留原文与译文链接。任何例外需征求九标志中文事工的许可。

请在分发时保留本许可声明。

本文标签

Book Review: What Grieving People Wish You Knew, by Nancy Guthrie

Review
11.22.2016

Nancy Guthrie, What Grieving People Wish You Knew about What Really Helps (and What Really Hurts). 192 pps, $12.99.

 

Nancy Guthrie’s new book What Grieving People Wish You Knew about What Really Helps (and What Really Hurts) is a personal, practical, and pastoral read. Many Christians and church leaders spend time interacting with grieving people or equipping their congregations to care for those around them who are grieving. Consequently, this book is especially pertinent for pastors.

SUMMARY

The book is based upon Nancy Guthrie’s experience in trials as well as a survey conducted of others who’ve experienced loss. She quotes extensively from these survey responses to help make her points by using the words of others.

The book is eminently practical and personal, divided into seven chapters that discuss the nitty-gritty of interacting with grieving individuals.

1. What to Say (and What Not to Say)

Guthrie pointed out how silence amidst others’ suffering is difficult because it essentially denies another’s suffering and loss (20). She made other practical points such as not comparing your suffering to someone else’s, not being in a hurry, listening well, and avoiding potentially painful questions. For example, if a friend’s son committed suicide, Nancy urged readers to not ask for specific details of his death.

2. Typical Things People Say (And What You Can Say Instead)

Guthrie spent the first half of the chapter enumerating a number of common yet unhelpful things people say: “I know just how you feel” . . . “You’ll be fine”. . . “You can have more children” . . . “Well, at least …” . . . “Don’t you think it is time to move on?” . . . “I guess God just needed him in heaven more than we needed him here.”

In the second half, she outlined some helpful ways to approach those suffering. For example, after the death of a loved one, she recommended sharing positive memories about the person who died to the individual who’s mourning the loss. Throughout the book, Guthrie emphasized the importance of communicating the value of the person who was lost to the individual who is grieving.

3. Assumptions We Make That Keep Us Away (And Why We Should Simply Show Up)

She also outlined a number of unhelpful assumptions that keep us from engaging with those who are grieving. In this chapter, she gave a one sentence summary of her message and a pithy encapsulation of engaging with those grieving: “If I had to boil down the message of this entire book to just two words, these two would probably cover it: show up” (69). Guthrie then proceeded to discuss common reasons people use to avoid being present such as not knowing the person suffering very well or being unsure about exactly what to say.

4. What To Do (And What Not To Do)

Having previously spoken about some helpful and unhelpful words, this chapter focuses on deeds. It’s filled with specific examples of things one can do to help those grieving. For example, she advocated listening more than talking, letting some things go that are said which you disagree with, leaving a message, sending a note, marking your calendar to remember the anniversary of a death, or helping with a financial gift in memory of someone who passed away.

5. Social Media and Grief (When The ‘Like’ Button Just Seems Wrong)

The fifth chapter dealt with the question of how to interact with those grieving via social media. She argued that even the small step of liking the post of one grieving publicly can go a long way in showing compassion. She contended that “your silence sounds like disapproval and perhaps even disgust and creates distance that is difficult to overcome” (126).

6. Let’s Talk About Talking About Heaven (And Hell)

Before discussing the specific theology of heaven and how to relate it to those grieving the loss of a loved one, Guthrie made an observation that’s certainly proved true in my experience: “One of the gifts given to us in the death of someone we love is that we think more about eternal things. We are awakened to the reality that this life is not all there is” (128). She then proceeded to offer a few thoughts on heaven: (1) We cannot know the full reality of the interior of another person’s life (131). (2) God always does right (132). (3) God’s very nature is that of mercy (133). She stated that despite society’s sentimental culture toward heaven, it cannot be assumed that everyone is with God eternally in heaven (129). Further, she provided a helpful warning about turning to books written by others purporting to know more about heaven than Scripture reveals.

7. A Few Quick Questions (And Answers)

In the final chapter, the book tackled a few practical questions such as how to weave Scripture into your comfort of others without sounding like you’re preaching at them. In addition, she discussed thinking through whether one grieving is depressed or simply experiencing a healthy sense of loss.

STRENGTHS

There are many strengths to What Grieving People Wish You Knew, but three in particular stand out: practical, personal, and pastoral.

Practical

This book is eminently practical as it contains tangible examples of things to do and say, while at the same time mentioning things we should avoid doing or saying. Moreover, the countless stories she retold through the quotations from survey participants offered a wide variety of experiences. This allows readers to latch on to different stories that more closely match their own.

In addition, Guthrie’s simple style means anyone can pick up this book and benefit from it immediately. There is no advanced knowledge or prior reading required. A teenager could read it in a few hours and find it helpful.

Lastly, the work also covers a lot of questions that people have while interacting with those grieving. While her book doesn’t seek to be comprehensive, it does address a broad spectrum of questions.

Personal

Guthrie’s book is also deeply personal both for herself and those reading it. She told her story of losing two children—and it is heartbreaking to read. The book is unavoidably emotional, especially if loss is on your mind or you personally resonate with the experiences mentioned.

As I read the book, much of what Guthrie wrote connected with personal experiences of my wife and me after our son unexpectedly died in the third trimester. For example, my wife felt hurt when people awkwardly avoided her likely because they didn’t know what to say. I was deeply touched when people wrote cards and gave gifts in our son’s name.

As an aside, Guthrie’s book Hearing Jesus Speak Into Your Sorrow (Tyndale, 2009) served as one of the best books I read on suffering after our son died. What Grieving People Wish You Knew is similarly filled with humility and grace. Guthrie pointed out how at times in her life, she made many of the same mistakes she exhorted against. Consequently, her book extends a lot of grace to those who have done similarly.

Pastoral

Guthrie’s book is also pastoral. She’s clearly concerned to shepherd those grieving, showing genuine care for them while pointing them to hope in Christ. Similarly, she shows sensitivity to the realities of those suffering.

WEAKNESSES

Does Not Emphasize Enough That Everyone is Different and Grieves Differently

While Nancy mentioned that “what is helpful and meaningful to one person may be unwanted or even annoying to another” (25) and “there are no one-size-fits-all words or deeds” (25), this point is not made enough throughout the book. Given the proclivity for formulas and three-step solutions that most of us possess, it would have been good to remind people more regularly that we need much wisdom to understand the best ways to interact with someone suffering. While Nancy’s book isn’t intended to be a manual but rather a set of guiding principles, it would be worth emphasizing this point more.

Too Focused on People Grieving Loss of Loved Ones

While this type of loss is the situation I found myself in, serving in a local church reminds me the breadth of loss is wide and the depth of grief is deep. While avoiding a one-size-fits-all approach, Guthrie’s book could have given greater attention to situations that don’t involve death: people grieving the loss of health as debilitating long-term diseases set in, those reeling from unwanted divorce, the after-effects of being abused, the list goes on and on.

CONCLUSION

Nonetheless, What Grieving People Wish You Knew is a helpful book for just about anyone. While it’s a short read, the emotional and spiritual work discussed in the book will last a lifetime.

By:
Eric Beach

Eric Beach lives in Washington, D. C.