Book Review: Hearers and Doers, by Kevin Vanhoozer

Review by David Schrock | 01.16.2020

In a world where churches chase the latest ministry fads, Hearers and Doers is a refreshing contrast.

Book Review: The Man of God: Volume 1, by Albert Martin

Review by Alex Hong | 01.09.2020

Martin’s book reminded me of my need to be surrounded by proven and seasoned pastors. His writings are not only thoroughly biblical, but wise and practical.

Book Review: Gender Ideology: What Do Christians Need to Know?, by Sharon James

Review by Carl Trueman | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.11.2019

This is a book that all Christians will find helpful in addressing a problem with which we will all likely at some point have to wrestle, either socially, politically, pastorally, or personally.

Book Review: Openness Unhindered: Further Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert on Sexual Identity and Union with Christ

Review by Mike Christ | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.10.2019

Rosaria Butterfield has become a popular speaker on the topic of sexuality. But we sell her short—and even risk misunderstanding her message—if we look to her book as only pertaining to homosexuality

Book Review: His Testimonies, My Heritage, ed. by Kristie Anyabwile

Review by Melissa Kruger | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.10.2019

If your soul is weary and your heart in need of refreshment, take a drink from the wisdom found in His Testimonies My Heritage

Book Review: (A)Typical Woman: Free, Whole, and Called in Christ, by Abigail Dodds

Review by Chesed Broggi | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.10.2019

I don’t know how Abigail Dodds feels about “empowerment” messages on clothing. But her new book, (A)typical Woman, is a substantive and real message of empowerment for women.

Book Review: The Reappearing Church, by Mark Sayers

Review by Brett McCracken | 12.05.2019

Renewal begins with desperation and repentance: a recognition of our utter impotence; a passionate falling at the feet of Christ.

Book Review: The Kingdom Unleashed, by Jerry Trousdale and Glenn Sunshine

Review by Caleb Morell | 11.21.2019

Undergirding the entirety of The Kingdom Unleashed is the dangerous assumption that fast is good and that faster is better.

Book Review: Encouragement, by Mark Chanski

Review by Mark Redfern | 11.14.2019

Much like a product flying off of the shelves, encouragement is in high demand. But in all too many of our churches, it is in short supply.

Book Review: A Big Gospel in Small Places, by Stephen Witmer

Review by Owen Strachan | 11.07.2019

Do not be misled: this is a book for every pastor in every place. It will spark all sorts of good thinking about pastoral ministry and the work of the local church.

Book Review: Launch, by Nelson Searcy & Kerrick Thomas

Review by Nathan Knight | 10.31.2019

We don’t need to borrow from the business world or their definitions of profit to establish criteria for success and significance.

Book Review: Protestants, by Alec Ryrie

Review by Forrest Strickland | 10.24.2019

A Protestant is not simply someone who has an all-encompassing experience with the God they find in the Bible. “Protestant” connotes, in part, certain theological convictions: beginning with the ancient creeds and including the solas of the Reformation.

Book Review: Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young

Review by Sean McCausland | 10.17.2019

Somehow, Young manages to both absolve us of responsibility for keeping ourselves in God’s love, and rob us of the comfort of God’s promise to keep us. Her theology has the effect of cheating us at both ends.

Book Review: The Prayers of Jesus, by Mark Jones

Review by Ryan Troglin | 10.10.2019

If your prayer life needs a jolt of electricity, The Prayers of Jesus might just do the trick.

Book Review: Letters to the Church, by Francis Chan

Review by Juan Sanchez | 10.03.2019

Chan offers some penetrating and incisive critiques of the modern church but offers a simplistic solution based on a selective and naïve hermeneutic.