Book Review: Providence, by John Piper

Review by Mark Redfern | 05.07.2021

The vision of God in these pages is (to use some hyphenated Piperisms) hope-giving, pride-humbling, and mind-stretching.

Book Review: Truths We Can Touch, by Tim Chester

Review by Paul Alexander | 04.22.2021

Chester has provided the church with an accessible discipling tool for teaching Christians the significance of our Christian symbols which are, despite all our disagreements, truth made tangible.  

Book Review: A Place to Belong, by Megan Hill

Review by Simona Gorton | 03.25.2021

Whether you are a sheep or a shepherd, you will come away from this book with a greater love for the fellow members of your local church and a more joyful sense of your obligation to them.

Book Review: Pastors and Their Critics, by Joel Beeke and Nick Thompson

Review by Mark Redfern | 03.18.2021

Handling criticism is not first a matter of skill, but a matter of the heart.

Book Review: The Essence and Implications of Missio Dei, by Peter Pikkert

Review by Sam Martyn | 03.11.2021

A thousand institutions are carrying the banner of creation care, global debt relief, and affordable housing; only the church of Jesus Christ carries the banner of good news for those needing rescue from eternal suffering.

Book Review: The Whole Counsel of God by Tim Patrick and Andrew Reid

Review by Shane Walker | 03.04.2021

Pastor, do you preach the whole counsel of God to your people?

Book Review: The Man of God: Volume 3, by Albert Martin

Review by Alex Hong | 02.25.2021

We would have healthier pastors and churches if every pastor read, listened, and applied the principles laid out in Martin’s pastoral trilogy.

Book Review: Missional Renaissance, by Reggie McNeal

Review by Caleb Greggsen | 02.18.2021

We need churches filled with Christians who encourage each other to be confident that our gospel is the most relevant message to the world, even when the world tells us it doesn’t matter at all.

Book Review: 40 Questions About Pastoral Ministry, by Phil Newton

Review by Mark Redfern | 02.11.2021

Newton’s book gripped my heart, brought tears to my eyes, encouraged my faith, and put resolve in my soul.

Book Review: Practicing Thankfulness, by Sam Crabtree

Review by Nick Dorsey | 02.04.2021

If you, like me, want to be more faithful and thankful in your calling as a pastor, Practicing Thankfulness is a good place to start.

Book Review: Help! I’m Married to My Pastor, by Jani Ortlund

Review by Jenny Manley | 01.28.2021

This book reminded me that the sacrifices of ministry are small in comparison to the great privilege it is to have a front row seat to the work the Lord is doing.

Book Review: The Post-Quarantine Church by Thom Rainer

Review by Allen Duty | 01.21.2021

In this book Rainer explores the challenges and opportunities for Christian ministry in a post-coronavirus world.

Book Review: Devoted to God’s Church, by Sinclair Ferguson

Review by Mark Redfern | 01.14.2021

Ferguson’s portrait of church life is refreshing and one that feels, by God’s enabling grace, achievable.

Book Review: Mere Discipleship, by Alister McGrath

Review by Paul Alexander | 12.17.2020

Mere Discipleship is an impressive, unique, thought-provoking book with a few shortcomings.

Book Review: A Little Book for New Preachers, by Matthew Kim

Review by Benjamin Vrbicek | 12.03.2020

Kim’s book is a short, accessible resource that can spark meaningful conversation among pastoral interns or a church staff.