Book Review: People of Promise, by Joseph Minich and Bradford Littlejohn (eds.)

Review by Brady Bowman | 06.17.2021

People of the Promise helpfully captures the core of the Protestant doctrine of the church.

Book Review: 7 Challenges Pastors Face, by David Horner

Review by Matt Boga | 06.10.2021

Seasoned pastors will undoubtedly find encouragement and wisdom in these pages, even if they don’t agree with everything Horner suggests.

Book Review: The Wisdom Pyramid, by Brett McCracken

Review by Mark Redfern | 06.03.2021

In an age increasingly unmooring itself from the well-worn roads of biblical reality, we need to be led again to the green pastures and still waters of God’s wisdom. This book will help lead you there.

Book Review: Rebels and Exiles, by Matthew Harmon

Review by Jeremy Kimble | 05.27.2021

Pastors, Harmon’s book explores a central biblical theme your people need to hear.

Book Review: The Good Portion Series, edited by Keri Folmar

Review by Bev Berrus | 05.20.2021

I hope these books serve as a guide for women who have heard the call to “teach what is good” (Titus 2:3) and commend the beauty of God’s word to the world with our very lives (Titus 2:5).

Book Review: We Evangelicals and Our Mission, by David Hesselgrave

Review by Mark Collins | 05.13.2021

It is not enough for us merely to identify the problems in the evangelical understanding of mission. With God’s help we need to take steps to strengthen churches at home so that we can plant stronger churches abroad.

Book Review: Providence, by John Piper

Review by Mark Redfern | 05.07.2021

The vision of God in these pages is (to use some hyphenated Piperisms) hope-giving, pride-humbling, and mind-stretching.

Book Review: Truths We Can Touch, by Tim Chester

Review by Paul Alexander | 04.22.2021

Chester has provided the church with an accessible discipling tool for teaching Christians the significance of our Christian symbols which are, despite all our disagreements, truth made tangible.  

Book Review: A Place to Belong, by Megan Hill

Review by Simona Gorton | 03.25.2021

Whether you are a sheep or a shepherd, you will come away from this book with a greater love for the fellow members of your local church and a more joyful sense of your obligation to them.

Book Review: Pastors and Their Critics, by Joel Beeke and Nick Thompson

Review by Mark Redfern | 03.18.2021

Handling criticism is not first a matter of skill, but a matter of the heart.

Book Review: The Essence and Implications of Missio Dei, by Peter Pikkert

Review by Sam Martyn | 03.11.2021

A thousand institutions are carrying the banner of creation care, global debt relief, and affordable housing; only the church of Jesus Christ carries the banner of good news for those needing rescue from eternal suffering.

Book Review: The Whole Counsel of God by Tim Patrick and Andrew Reid

Review by Shane Walker | 03.04.2021

Pastor, do you preach the whole counsel of God to your people?

Book Review: The Man of God: Volume 3, by Albert Martin

Review by Alex Hong | 02.25.2021

We would have healthier pastors and churches if every pastor read, listened, and applied the principles laid out in Martin’s pastoral trilogy.

Book Review: Missional Renaissance, by Reggie McNeal

Review by Caleb Greggsen | 02.18.2021

We need churches filled with Christians who encourage each other to be confident that our gospel is the most relevant message to the world, even when the world tells us it doesn’t matter at all.

Book Review: 40 Questions About Pastoral Ministry, by Phil Newton

Review by Mark Redfern | 02.11.2021

Newton’s book gripped my heart, brought tears to my eyes, encouraged my faith, and put resolve in my soul.