Book Review: Encouragement, by Mark Chanski

Review by Mark Redfern | 11.14.2019

Much like a product flying off of the shelves, encouragement is in high demand. But in all too many of our churches, it is in short supply.

Book Review: A Big Gospel in Small Places, by Stephen Witmer

Review by Owen Strachan | 11.07.2019

Do not be misled: this is a book for every pastor in every place. It will spark all sorts of good thinking about pastoral ministry and the work of the local church.

Book Review: Launch, by Nelson Searcy & Kerrick Thomas

Review by Nathan Knight | 10.31.2019

We don’t need to borrow from the business world or their definitions of profit to establish criteria for success and significance.

Book Review: Protestants, by Alec Ryrie

Review by Forrest Strickland | 10.24.2019

A Protestant is not simply someone who has an all-encompassing experience with the God they find in the Bible. “Protestant” connotes, in part, certain theological convictions: beginning with the ancient creeds and including the solas of the Reformation.

Book Review: Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young

Review by Sean McCausland | 10.17.2019

Somehow, Young manages to both absolve us of responsibility for keeping ourselves in God’s love, and rob us of the comfort of God’s promise to keep us. Her theology has the effect of cheating us at both ends.

Book Review: The Prayers of Jesus, by Mark Jones

Review by Ryan Troglin | 10.10.2019

If your prayer life needs a jolt of electricity, The Prayers of Jesus might just do the trick.

Book Review: Letters to the Church, by Francis Chan

Review by Juan Sanchez | 10.03.2019

Chan offers some penetrating and incisive critiques of the modern church but offers a simplistic solution based on a selective and naïve hermeneutic.

Book Review: Planting Missional Churches, by Ed Stetzer and Daniel Im

Review by Nathan Knight | 09.26.2019

Stetzer and Im have produced a useful book on planting, but you’ll need other books to fill in your understanding of what the church is and the responsibilities of pastoral ministry.

Book Review: Remaining Faithful in Ministry, by John MacArthur

Review by Bob Johnson | 09.19.2019

If you are going to be faithful in ministry you have to preach the gospel clearly. If you preach the gospel clearly, you will be attacked. When you are attacked, you have to resist making ministry about yourself.

Book Review: A Company of Heroes, by Tim Keesee

Review by Simona Gorton | 09.12.2019

What is the message of this book for you and your church? “Follow Christ. Lift up the cross!”

Book Review: J-Curve, by Paul Miller

Review by Mark Redfern | 09.05.2019

This life is the wilderness before the promised land, where temptations to grumble abound. This present sojourn includes a cross being placed upon our shoulders before the crown that one day adorns our heads.

Book Review: Orthodox Radicals, by Matthew Bingham

Review by Bobby Jamieson | 08.29.2019

It is logically easier to be baptistic without being congregational than to be congregational without being baptistic. Yet the two convictions fit together snugly. Maybe our earliest English ecclesiological ancestors were on to something.

Book Review: 7 Myths About Singleness, by Sam Allberry

Review by Rachel Ware | 08.15.2019

In response to a culture that celebrates singleness for all the wrong reasons and a church that can sometimes undermine its value, 7 Myths of Singleness uncovers the surprising blessings and challenges of singleness lived for the glory of God.

Book Review: You Found Me, by Rick Richardson

Review by Aaron Menikoff | 08.08.2019

You Found Me provides some healthy directives to churches which have grown stagnant in their evangelism. His book also left me with several important questions for Richardson that discerning readers need to consider.

Book Review: Grace Defined and Defended

Review by Mark Redfern | 08.01.2019

In my own church, we recently spent the month of July preaching on the doctrines of grace. DeYoung’s book provided helpful historical context and pastoral application for the series. I gladly recommend this book to pastors and growing Christians alike.