Book Review: Discerning Your Call To Ministry, by Jason Allen

Review by Jeremy Yong | 02.20.2020

As I reflect on my own journey to the ministry, I wish I had this book as a young man exploring what it meant to be a pastor.

Book Review: The Evangelicals, By Frances Fitzgerald

Review by Jonathan Baer | 02.13.2020

The Evangelicals should prompt American Christians to consider afresh our relationship to our nation, our understanding of its religious history, and our aspirations for its public life.

Book Review: Remember Death, by Matt McCullough

Review by Josh Manley | 02.06.2020

Jesus doesn’t promise to give us more of what death will only steal anyway. He wants to give us what death can’t touch.

Book Review: Eve in Exile, by Rebekah Merkle

Review by Andy Naselli | 01.30.2020

Eve in Exile is a timely, wise, witty, and motivating analysis of biblical womanhood and complementarianism.

Book Review: The Creaking on the Stairs, by Mez McConnell

Review by Ian Williamson | 01.23.2020

For pastors who are looking for help on how to minister to the abused, this book is a must read.

Book Review: Hearers and Doers, by Kevin Vanhoozer

Review by David Schrock | 01.16.2020

In a world where churches chase the latest ministry fads, Hearers and Doers is a refreshing contrast.

Book Review: The Man of God: Volume 1, by Albert Martin

Review by Alex Hong | 01.09.2020

Martin’s book reminded me of my need to be surrounded by proven and seasoned pastors. His writings are not only thoroughly biblical, but wise and practical.

Book Review: Gender Ideology: What Do Christians Need to Know?, by Sharon James

Review by Carl Trueman | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.11.2019

This is a book that all Christians will find helpful in addressing a problem with which we will all likely at some point have to wrestle, either socially, politically, pastorally, or personally.

Book Review: Openness Unhindered: Further Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert on Sexual Identity and Union with Christ

Review by Mike Christ | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.10.2019

Rosaria Butterfield has become a popular speaker on the topic of sexuality. But we sell her short—and even risk misunderstanding her message—if we look to her book as only pertaining to homosexuality

Book Review: His Testimonies, My Heritage, ed. by Kristie Anyabwile

Review by Melissa Kruger | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.10.2019

If your soul is weary and your heart in need of refreshment, take a drink from the wisdom found in His Testimonies My Heritage

Book Review: (A)Typical Woman: Free, Whole, and Called in Christ, by Abigail Dodds

Review by Chesed Broggi | 9Marks Journal: Complementarianism: A Moment of Reckoning | 12.10.2019

I don’t know how Abigail Dodds feels about “empowerment” messages on clothing. But her new book, (A)typical Woman, is a substantive and real message of empowerment for women.

Book Review: The Reappearing Church, by Mark Sayers

Review by Brett McCracken | 12.05.2019

Renewal begins with desperation and repentance: a recognition of our utter impotence; a passionate falling at the feet of Christ.

Book Review: The Kingdom Unleashed, by Jerry Trousdale and Glenn Sunshine

Review by Caleb Morell | 11.21.2019

Undergirding the entirety of The Kingdom Unleashed is the dangerous assumption that fast is good and that faster is better.

Book Review: Encouragement, by Mark Chanski

Review by Mark Redfern | 11.14.2019

Much like a product flying off of the shelves, encouragement is in high demand. But in all too many of our churches, it is in short supply.

Book Review: A Big Gospel in Small Places, by Stephen Witmer

Review by Owen Strachan | 11.07.2019

Do not be misled: this is a book for every pastor in every place. It will spark all sorts of good thinking about pastoral ministry and the work of the local church.