建立健康教会

书评:布莱恩·柴培尔《以基督为中心的敬拜》

Review
2016-06-23

原文标题与链接:Book Review: Christ-Centered Worship

翻译:陈若茹

 

此书中文版《以基督为中心的敬拜》已由更新传道会以及美国麦种传道会出版。

 

布莱恩·柴培尔在他的新书《以基督为中心的敬拜》中写道:“敬拜不单是主观随性的选择,教会传统,个人偏好或文化吸引。基督救赎工作的福音之所以为福音,有其不变的基本真理。因此,如果我们的敬拜架构一直都是讲述福音真理,我们的敬拜必有某些保持不变的方面。

如果你没读到最后就感到无聊而没有完成此书的阅读,我希望你可以记住以上这三个佳句。它们是布莱恩·柴培尔的著作《以基督为中心的敬拜:让福音引领实践》的总结与主旨。

当被问及“你觉得你参加的教会如何?”,我无数次听到有信徒回答:“我喜欢或不喜欢那里的音乐”,却没有意识到,他的潜台词是,对于聚会中所谓的敬拜环节,“是否迎合他们的音乐品味”才真正重要。可悲的是,有太多的牧师出于不合圣经的压力而努力让音乐变得吸引人,从而让人愿意来参加聚会。

密苏里州圣路易斯圣约神学院(Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis, Missouri.)校长布莱恩·柴培尔面临有关共同敬拜基本目标的困惑时,他并不想讨论主日讲台上可以讲解一两个小时的深奥又抽象的话题。相反,他明白敬拜对理解经文和现实至关重要。敬拜是我们作为神形象代表的核心,因此正确理解敬拜是极其关键的。

概览

柴培尔把书分为两部分:“福音敬拜”与“福音敬拜资源”。从一个开始,柴培尔就清楚在敬拜的过程中唯有福音才是关键。他论道:“我们用我们的敬拜方式来讲述福音”(19)。你也许可以想象改革时期的教堂建筑是如何从天主教堂转化成其他形式的,设计者想通过建筑架构表达他们的想法,因此,今天我们也要如此架构地方教会的敬拜:“架构能讲述故事”(15)。

正如生活的其他领域,我们对这位活神的敬拜也要站在前人的肩膀上。鉴于此,柴培尔简述了罗马天主教敬拜礼仪的发展历史,以及几位罗马敬拜仪式的反对者:路德、加尔文,还有威斯敏斯特的神学家。他描述了新教礼拜仪式是如何脱离祭祀制度(sacerdotalism)而归回福音真理的。

此外,柴培尔也指出,用圣经来规范敬拜,是最确切的方法来帮助敬拜者意识到福音是他们最需要的。

柴培尔概览了现代教会敬拜的演变。20世纪教会特征是渴望与人联合(70),在唯独神有主权安排的事情上,他的子民靠着神的主权与慈爱的邀请来到主前回应他,教会却开始高举人的情感联系过于与神相交。对这运动有许多归正回应,柴培尔着重讲解了罗伯特·雷波恩(Robert G. Rayburn)1980年发表的《来吧,让我们敬拜吧》(O Come, Let us Worship),这本书“重提福音主义的历史与礼拜礼仪”(72)。(sought to reintroduce evangelicalism to its history and liturgy”)雷波恩的归正试图用宗教改革时期的传统来对抗当时的福音派做法。

纵观他的历史调查,柴培尔认为从初期教会到改革时期,再到今天的教会,以福音为导向的敬拜有其不变的模式,照着赞美(adoration)、认罪、得救确据(assurance)、感恩、祈求、教导、责备与祝福的次序。柴培尔再三阐述这种福音架构是如何自然而然地在整本圣经中自我显明的。

在书的第二部分,柴培尔带读者进入公共敬拜礼仪的各组成部分,并列出资源让教会能够按圣经执行各个环节。他包含了赞美的呼召(Call to Worship)、信心坚固、认罪、赦罪的确信、礼拜规则(过渡)(Rubrics(Transitions))、历史成分、阅读经文的历史与操练、证道和祝祷。最后,柴培尔提供了几个从整本圣经来看符合福音架构的敬拜例子。

福音,福音,福音

你还记得1992年克林顿总统的竞选演说吗?“傻瓜,经济才是关键!”如果柴培尔这本书需要一个主题来总结的话,那就是“福音才是关键!”——那么,你已抓住了要点。

唯有福音及其对应的架构才能推进公共敬拜,柴培尔非常精确地解释了这个问题。他意识到我们的敬拜架构不仅揭示了我们的价值观,而且还塑造了我们。因此他竭尽全力地解释福音本身是如何形成敬拜架构的,这个架构显示于整本圣经中。

如圣经教导,如果敬拜是我们最需要的,而神在福音中已满足了这一需求,我们就可以安息在神丰富的护理内,这教导我们要如何通过敬拜把福音的能力最大化。柴培尔从经文中选了几个这种福音架构的例子(赛6,申5,代下5-7,罗11-15,启4-21),他说道:“神特地提供范例的地方,一直与福音的模式相呼应,这也是教会后来所实行的”(102)。这种公共模式每周教导神的百姓如何明白“个人生命中福音的扎根”(99)。这也意味着神的百姓不断地被教导,福音对称义很必要,对成圣也一样必要。

总而言之,拯救的福音是推动并指导敬拜的福音。

从消费导向到福音导向

可悲的是,教会一个很大的特征就是敬拜的争战,而这争战常常是以风格偏好为导向的而不是渴望忠于经文。布莱恩·柴培尔公正地指出,这种争战的唯一出路就是福音。

当人们认信以福音为引导,以基督为中心的敬拜时,其本身就优先“清楚解释了为什么敬拜必须有所选择,并合理解释了这些选择”(133)。

只有当信徒“意识到敬拜的关键是以圣经为优先,而不是个人期待,领袖们才能在敬拜上的形式上合一,这种形式无需完全符合他们的喜好,因为他们明白只要能推进福音便好”(133)。

只有真理有能力使我们放弃自己的喜好,敬重人而彼此推让(罗12:10),布莱恩·柴培尔指导教会追求这样的敬拜。

获得此书!

《以基督为中心的敬拜》神学正确,以历史为根基,以圣经为导向。在此书中,布莱恩·柴培尔促使教会领袖用符合真理的范例和架构来形成神百姓的共同敬拜。

如果你是负责敬拜的牧师或教会领袖,或者想更好地了解圣经中这个大主题,就读读这本书吧!无疑柴培尔是个好向导,为牧师的工具箱增配了一项有力的工具。


许可声明:你可以各种形式使用、复制与分发本文,但不允许修改文中内容(更正翻译错误除外),不允许收取超过复制成本的费用,并且分发不得超过1000个拷贝。如果要在网络或邮件中转贴,请务必保留原文与译文链接。任何例外需征求九标志中文事工的许可。

请在分发时保留本许可声明。9Marks网址:cn.9marks.org,电子邮件地址:chinese@9marks.org

本文标签

Book Review: Christ-Centered Worship, by Bryan Chapell

Review
01.31.2011

In his recent book Christ-Centered Worship Bryan Chapell writes, “Worship cannot simply be a matter of arbitrary choice, church tradition, personal preference or cultural appeal. There are foundational truths in the gospel of Christ’s redeeming work that do not change if the gospel is to remain the gospel. So, if our worship structures are to tell this story consistently, then there must be certain aspects of our worship that remain consistent” (85).

If boredom overtakes you before the end of this review and you don’t finish, I want these three outstanding sentences to remain embedded in your mind. They are the sum and substance of Bryan Chapell’s excellent book Christ-Centered Worship: Letting the Gospel Shape our Practice.

I can’t count how many times I have heard a Christian answer the question “How did you like the church you visited?” by saying, “I really did (or didn’t) like the music.” Without realizing it, the person insinuates that what really mattered about the so-called “worship” part of the service was whether or not it suited their musical tastes. Sadly, too many pastors feel an unbiblical pressure to make the music appealing so that the people will be engaged.

Into the midst of such confusion about the basic purpose of corporate worship enters Bryan Chapell, President of Covenant Theological Seminary in St. Louis, Missouri. Chapell is not interested in an esoteric, abstract discussion about a topic that’s important for an hour or two every Sunday. Instead, he understands that worship is fundamental to understanding the Scriptures and therefore reality. Worship is at the core of who we as image-bearers are. It’s vital for us to understand it rightly.

OVERVIEW

Chapell divides the book into two parts: “Gospel Worship” and “Gospel Worship Resources.” From the outset, Chapell is clear that nothing less than the gospel is at stake in our worship. He states, “We tell the gospel by the way we worship” (19). You might think of how the architecture of church buildings changed during the Reformation from cathedrals to something else. Their planners wanted to say something through structure. So it is with how we structure our worship in the local church today: “Structures tell stories” (15).

As in every other area of life, we stand on the shoulders of those who have gone before us when we worship the living God. With this in mind, Chapell gives a brief and helpful historical sketch of the liturgical developments in Roman Catholic worship and a few of those who reacted against the liturgy of Rome: Luther, Calvin, and the Westminster divines. He describes how the Protestant liturgies moved away from sacerdotalism and back to gospel truths.

Further, Chapell demonstrates that regulating worship by the Scriptures is the surest way to help the worshiper see what he or she needs most: the gospel.

Chapell also provides an overview of the evolution of worship in the modern church. Characterized by a desire “to connect with people” (70), churches in the twentieth century began to elevate connecting emotionally with people over engaging with God on the terms he alone has the authority to set and by which his people are graciously invited to respond. There have been a number of corrective reactions to this movement, and Chapell focuses on Robert G. Rayburn’s 1980 publication, O Come, Let us Worship, which “sought to reintroduce evangelicalism to its history and liturgy” (72). Rayburn’s correctives sought to bring the traditions of the Reformation to bear on contemporary evangelical practice.

Synthesizing his historical survey, Chapell argues that there has been a consistent pattern of gospel-driven worship from the early church to the Reformation to the present: it follows the sequence of adoration, confession, assurance, thanksgiving, petition, instruction, charge, and blessing. Chapell repeatedly demonstrates how this gospel structure naturally manifests itself throughout the Scriptures.

Chapell devotes the second half of his book to walking the reader through these various components of the corporate worship service and listing resources that will enable the church to biblically carry out each one. He walks through the Call to Worship, Affirmation of Faith, Confession of Sin, Assurance of Pardon, Rubrics (Transitions), Historic Components, the history and practice of Scripture-Reading, the Sermon, and Benediction. To top it all off, Chapell provides several examples of worship services that accord with the gospel structures seen throughout Scripture.

GOSPEL, GOSPEL, GOSPEL

Do you remember the theme of President Clinton’s presidential campaign in 1992? “It’s the economy, stupid!” If there is a single theme that undergirds Chapell’s book, it would be, “It’s the gospel…”—well, you get the point.

Nothing other than the gospel and the structures it yields must propel corporate worship, and Chapell drives home this point with precision. He realizes that the structures of our worship not only reveal what we value, but shape us. So he goes to great length to demonstrate how the gospel carries within itself a worship-shaping structure, and a structure that’s revealed throughout Scripture.

If, as the Bible teaches, worship is our supreme need, and God has met this need in the gospel, we can rest in God’s sufficient care for us to teach us how to maximize the power of the gospel through worship. Chapell includes several such examples of gospel structures from the Scriptures (Isaiah 6, Deuteronomy 5, 2 Chronicles 5–7, Romans 11–15, Revelation 4–21). He states, “Where God intentionally provides models, they consistently echo the gospel patterns the church will later practice” (102). These corporate patterns then teach God’s people each week how to understand “the progress of the gospel in the life of an individual” (99). And this means that God’s people are repeatedly taught that the gospel is every bit as necessary for sanctification as for justification.

In short, the gospel that saves is the gospel that propels and orders worship.

FROM CONSUMER-DRIVEN TO GOSPEL-DRIVEN

The worship wars that have too often characterized churches have sadly been driven by stylistic preference rather than the desire to be faithful to Scripture. Bryan Chapell rightly argues that the only solution for such battles is the gospel.

When gospel-empowered, Christ-centered worship is embraced, it carries with it priorities that “make it plain why worship choices must be made and give a rationale for those choices” (133).

It is only when believers “see that the main concerns of worship are about meeting biblical priorities rather than personal expectations [that] leaders can unite behind a worship style that does not entirely match their preferences because they are convinced it advances the gospel” (133).

Only the gospel has the power to enable us to give up our preferences and to prefer others above ourselves (Rom. 12:10), and Bryan Chapell directs the church to embrace such worship.

GET THIS BOOK!

Christ-Centered Worship is theologically sound, historically rooted, and biblically driven. In this book, Bryan Chapell pushes church leaders to shape the corporate worship of God’s people with the paradigms and structures found in the gospel.

If you are a pastor or church leader with responsibilities for worship or want to better understand this massive topic in Scripture, read this book! Chapell is a sure guide who provides a solid tool for the pastor’s toolbox.

By:
Josh Manley

Josh Manley is a Pastor of RAK Evangelical Church in the United Arab Emirates. You can find him on Twitter at @JoshPManley.