簡體
書評
書評
書評:魏樂德《上帝的聲音》

原文標題與鏈接:Book Review: Hearing God, by Dallas Willard

翻譯:Frank

魏樂德(Dallas Willard)處理「上帝的引導」這一主題的角度,完全不同於我最近閱讀過的有關這一主題的其他任何書籍,但可能是今天大多數福音派信徒處理它的方式。我的猜測是,今天美國大多數福音派信徒都會贊同魏樂德所說的大部分內容,即使他們不會以完全相同的方式表達或闡述這些觀點。魏樂德的書《上帝的聲音:與上帝建立對話性的關係》(Hearing God: Developing a Conversational Relationship with God想要證明「與所有親密的人際關係一樣,我們可以指望神在適當的時候與我們每個人交談」(p. 10)。這種說法可能有多種形式,但魏樂德認爲,歸根結底,最重要的是「微小的聲音」。坦誠地講,這本書寫得不怎麼樣。雖然句子結構合理,有時候發人深省,但全書的組織卻是隨意而且經常令人困惑。書中論證的範圍涉及聖經解經、個人故事,乃至與自然、物理或人際關係的冗長且錯綜複雜的類比。

我不太確定,如果我試圖以概要的形式來討論這本書,對它的論點是否公平。其中的論證並沒有易於辨識的線性軌跡。相反,更像是對「上帝的話語」「上帝的統治」或「救贖與上帝的話語」等概念進行細緻研究的一系列快照。這些不一定是釋經式的研究,而更多的是魏樂德自己關於這些概念的思想展示。我讀這本書時有好幾次心中困惑:「你是在用什麼權威這樣說呢?」例如,我不太清楚如何處理這樣的斷言——「現實的精神或屬靈層面並不能跨越空間而帶來其影響,我們自己的思想也同樣不能跨越空間來影響另一個人……」(p. 76)我不確定這是討論基督徒如何被上帝引導的切實基礎。

可能很多讀到這篇書評的人都同意魏樂德的基本論點——上帝會藉著他們靈裡的「細微聲音」直接和個人地向他的子民說話。無論你是否如此,你應該警惕魏樂德爲他所舉例子辯論的方式。首先,他論點的一個主要方面是,聖經是一種學習上帝過去如何向祂的子民說話的原始資料,我們應該期望他可以以同一方式在現今對我們說話。「我們有必要提醒自己,閱讀聖經的記載要好像所描述的內容正在發生在我們自己身上。我們必須有意識地認定,這些事情可以發生在我們身上,並想像如果它們發生,會是怎樣。」這樣,我們就會學會認出上帝的聲音。魏樂德相信,當聖經說保羅、以利亞和巴拿巴是和我們一樣的人,甚至它說耶穌受像我們一樣受到了試探,「這意味著他們的經歷基本上與我們的經歷相似。」(p. 36)在許多方面,我可以同意這一說法。保羅、以利亞和巴拿巴都是人,但聖經並沒有向我們表明,我們可以期望發生在他們身上的事會同樣發生在我們身上。事實上,我認爲更有可能的是,指出這些人與我們一樣是爲了向我們表明,對於這些人來說,他們在本質上並沒有突出的東西可以讓上帝揀選他們來參與這些前所未有、不可重複且具有救贖歷史意義的事件。僅僅因爲我們知道摩西同樣是人,並不意味著我們應該期待在我們的生命中的某個時刻也會看到燃燒的荊棘。這裡有一個有趣的要點,關於「微小的聲音」,它在現代福音派也同樣是一個重要的概念。你們有多少人在閱讀這篇書評時確實知道這句話的來源?我承認,我這一生中一直在聽到它,卻從沒有仔細思考過它,但是當我終於停下來思想它時,我意識到我竟不知道在聖經的哪個地方可以找到它。雖然,正如魏樂德告訴我的那樣,它來自《列王紀上》,並且這是上帝選擇向先知以利亞說話的方式。我的問題是,爲什麼我們認爲上帝會以同樣的方式對我們說話?爲什麼不認爲他也會從天降下火來燒盡我們個人在迦密山上的獻祭呢?他也爲以利亞這樣做了。我們之所以不這樣認爲,是因爲當上帝專門向他的先知說話時,他這樣做有非常特殊的、救贖歷史的原因。事實上,這就是爲什麼它們被記錄在聖經中。聖經並非只是上帝對我們說話可能採取的各種方式的彙編。這是他如何超自然地拯救他的子民的故事,魏樂德教導我們應該在自己的生活中尋找同樣的經歷是錯誤的。

同樣令人不安的是,魏樂德在他的書中非常強調人的經歷。這本書充滿了與上帝「相遇」或「聽到」上帝聲音之人的故事,魏樂德用這些故事作爲數據來構建一種「聆聽上帝」的神學。我不認爲這是一個明智或健全的從事神學的方式。當然,我沒有依據來質疑一個人的經歷。我豈能說Rosalind Rinker沒有聽到一個聲音,告訴她要和上帝交談而不是在禱告裡向他演講?(p. 104)也許她確實聽到了,我不是刻意要論斷。但我能說的是,我質疑Rosalind Rinker對這種經歷的詮釋。事實上,也許這並不是上帝的聲音在和她說話,而是她自己的想法,是她自己的慾望和念頭。這不同樣很有可能嗎?魏樂德似乎明白這個道理,他也就這樣把這本書結束了,我想,這就像它在開始時一樣混亂。

如何確定一個反覆出現的想法或念頭是否真的來自上帝?魏樂德用兩個詞回答:「通過經驗。」換句話說,我們生活的時間越長,我們對上帝的聲音越熟悉,我們就越容易認出它。說實話,這並沒有多大幫助。魏樂德試圖通過指出他所謂的「三重亮光」(the three lights)——環境、聖靈的光照和聖經中的經文來解決這些混亂,但這使得他不得不通過類似於科學中假設和實驗的方法來確定上帝的聲音:「通常在一小時左右的時間裡,我的意識中出現了一個念頭或想法,它帶有一些特質、情緒和內容,以至於我已經將之與上帝的聲音聯繫在一起。如果是這樣,我可以將其寫下來以供進一步研究……或者我可以通過在短時間內重複相同的過程來重新考慮這個問題。「(p. 200)對我而言,這直接讓整件事情顯得可疑。既然上帝會對他的孩子清楚地說話,我們是否真的期望探明他的聲音將需要如此漫長而複雜的過程,其中還包含了不確定性,甚至需要「通過反覆實驗來考察結果」?對我來說,似乎更有可能的是,上帝會給我們他絕對正確、明白無誤的話語。他所做的正是如此,聖經就是他的道/話語(Word);我們的生命和敬虔,甚至我們生命中做最特別的決定所需要知道的一切都可以在那裡找到。這裡沒有必要來整個論證如何根據聖經做決定。在本網站評論過的任何其他書籍中都可以輕鬆找到這些內容。但是,與魏樂德提出的令人困惑和混亂的方法相比,基於聖經命令和智慧的決定似乎更加穩固和現實。

最後,我認爲我應該警告一下,非常危險的是,魏樂德和開放神論的陣營,以及格雷格·博伊德(Greg Boyd)和克拉克·平諾克(Clark Pinnock,又譯「潘嘉樂」)這樣的人,走得非常近。博伊德講述了一位年輕女子的故事,她確信上帝告訴她要嫁給某個男人。當那個男人與她離婚時,她來到博伊德那裡尋求建議。現在,人們會認爲處理這種情況的最佳方法不是質疑上帝對這些事件的瞭解,而是質疑這位女子何以確定是上帝對她說話。這似乎才是其中更薄弱的環節。然而,博伊德並沒有質疑她的洞察力,而是告訴她,上帝只是給了她當時最好的建議,但遺憾的是,他錯了。我不確定魏樂德離那樣的觀點有多遠。他寫道:「當我們從上帝那裡得到一句話並確信它時,情況類似,但其所表明的事件並未成真。其他人還可能參與其中,他們可能不知道也可能不遵行上帝的旨意。上帝也許並不能凌駕於(override)他們之上。」(p. 209)讓我說得直接了當一些——上帝告訴我,他會使得一些事物發生,但因爲有些事情出了茬子,他的計劃被挫敗了,「微小的聲音」最終帶給我的是一聲尷尬的「哎喲」和令人尷尬的聳聳肩。如果說魏樂德搞錯了,他「得著」的「來自上帝的話語」實際上並不是來自上帝的話語,那豈不是更合理麼?似乎質疑他對他自己心中感動的詮釋,而不是質疑上帝使他的旨意成就的能力才正確。

我認爲可能有更好、更正統且謹慎的書籍至少也會持有魏樂德所論證的部分內容。事實上,我肯定很多人都相信上帝會親自並直接地向他的子民說話,而不會犯任何魏樂德在書中所犯的錯誤。但最後,我認爲讓我們完全依賴上帝默示的話語——聖經——是更安全的;我們也不必憂心忡忡,試圖確定哪一個轉瞬即逝的念頭是來自上帝的超自然「話語」。如果你平日想知道上帝所說的話,請讀聖經!

註釋

①此書曾在1997年冠以In Search of Guidance之名出版,Hearing God則是1999年再版時的名稱。文中所引英文版:Hearing God: Developing a Conversational Relationship with God,3RD EDITION by Dallas Willard. InterVarsity Press,1999;中文版:《上帝的聲音》,魏樂德著,鄔錫芬譯,臺北:校園書房出版社,2005年。文中頁碼爲英文版原書頁碼。——譯者注

②開放神論(open theism):開放神論是二十世紀的神學運動,肯定人的自由意志和未來的開放性(openness)。既然未來還未發生,上帝和人都不能絕對而徹底地知道將來會有何事,最多只是推理,而理性的行動主體(rational agents)所做的自由選擇更是不可預知的,所以連上帝的預知和判斷也可能出錯。開放神論也拒絕正統神學中上帝其他的一些屬性,例如:全知、全在、不變和無感性(impassibility),而視之爲希臘哲學滲入基督教神學後的產物。其代表人物有格雷格·博伊德(Greg Boyd)、克拉克·平諾克(Clark Pinnock)和約翰·桑德斯(John E. Sanders)等。

作者: Greg Gilbert
2019-04-08
聖經
書評
神的引導
魏樂德

Book Review: Hearing God, by Dallas Willard

Review
07.02.2002

Dallas Willard approaches the topic of divine guidance from a different angle than any of the other books I have recently read on the subject, but in probably the way that most evangelical Christians today approach it.  My guess is that the majority of evangelical Christians in America today would agree with Willard in most of what he says, even if they would not articulate or explain the ideas in exactly the same ways he does.  Willard’s book, Hearing God: Developing a Conversational Relationship with God,  hopes to prove that “as with all close personal relationships, we can surely count on God to speak to each of us when and as it is appropriate,” (10).  That speaking may come in a variety of forms, but it is Willard’s opinion that above all, what must hold pride of place is the “still small voice.”  To be frank, the book is not well-written.  While the sentences are well-structured and sometimes thought-provoking, the organization is haphazard and often confusing.  The arguments range from biblical exegesis to personal stories to long, involved, and intricate analogies with nature or physics or human relationships.

I’m not sure that I could do much justice to the argument of the book if I tried to put it in summary form.  The argument doesn’t really move in any easily detectable linear trajectory.  Instead, the argument is more a series of snapshots of extremely detailed studies of concepts like “The Word of God” or “The Rule of God” or “Redemption and the Word of God.”  Those are not necessarily exegetical studies, but more an open-house of Willard’s mind concerning those concepts.  Several times as I read the book, I found myself wondering, “By what authority do you say that?”  For example, I am not quite sure what to do with the assertion that, “The mental or spiritual side of reality does not traverse space to have its effects, any more than one of our own thoughts has to traverse space to influence another person . . .” (76).  I’m not sure that’s much of a basis for discussing how Christians are to be guided by God.

Odds are that many people who read this review will agree with Willard’s basic thesis—that God speaks directly and personally to his people through a “still small voice” in their spirits.  Whether or not that describes you, you should be wary of some of the ways that Willard argues his case.  First of all, one of the major legs of his argument is that the Bible is a kind of sourcebook for learning how God has spoken to His people in the past, and we should read with the expectation that He might speak to us in the same way.  “It is worth reminding ourselves to read the biblical accounts as if what is described is happening to us.  We must make the conscious effort to think that such things might happen to us and to imagine what it would be like if they were to happen.”  In that way, we will learn to recognize God’s voice.  Willard believes that when the Bible says that Paul, Elijah, and Barnabas were human beings like us, and even when it says that Jesus was tested as we are, “it means that their experience was substantially like our own,” (36).  In many ways, I can agree with that statement.  Paul, Elijah, and Barnabas were all humans, but the Bible does not point that out to show us that we may expect what happened to them to happen to us.  In fact, I think it is more likely pointed out that these men were human to show us that there was nothing inherently outstanding about these people that would make God choose them for such unprecedented, unrepeated, and redemptive-historically significant events.  Just because we know that Moses was a human being does not mean that we should all expect to see a burning bush sometime in our lives.  There’s an interesting point to be made here about the “still small voice,” as important a concept as that is in modern evangelicalism.  How many of you reading this review actually knew where that phrase came from?  I admit, I have heard it used all my life and never given a second thought to it, but when I finally stopped to consider it, I realized I had no idea where in the Bible it’s to be found.  As Willard informed me, though, it is from the book of I Kings, and it is the way that God chose to spoke to the prophet Elijah.  My question, though, is this—why do we assume that God will so speak to us in that same way?  Why not assume that he will also send fire from heaven to consume the sacrifices on our own personal Mount Carmels?  He did that, too, for Elijah.  The reason we don’t assume such is that when God spoke specially to His prophets, there were very special, salvation-historical reasons for His doing so.  That, in fact, is why they were recorded in the Bible.  The Bible is not simply a compendium of various ways that God might speak to us.  It is the story of how He supernaturally worked to save His people, and it is an error for Willard to teach that we should look for those same kinds of experiences in our own lives.

It is also troubling that Willard puts such a great deal of emphasis on human experience in his book.  The book is peppered with stories of people who have “encountered” God, or “heard” God’s voice, and Willard uses these stories as data from which to build a theology of “hearing God.”  I am not sure that is a wise or sound way of going about the task of theology.  Of course, I don’t have any basis for questioning a person’s experience.  Who am I to say that Rosalind Rinker didn’t hear a voice telling her to include God in the conversation instead of making “prayer-speeches” to Him? (104)  Maybe she did.  I am not one to judge.  What I can say, though, is that I question Rosalind Rinker’s interpretation of that experience.  Maybe that was not, in fact, the voice of God telling her that, but rather her own thoughts, her own desires and ideas.  Isn’t that just as possible?  It seems that Willard understands that problem, which ultimately leads him to end his book, I think, in just as much confusion as it begins.

How is one to determine whether or not a recurring thought or an impression is really from God?  Willard answers with two words:  “By experience.”  In other words, the longer we live and the more familiar we become with God’s voice, the more readily we will recognize it.  That, honestly, is not much help.  Willard tries to untangle the mess by pointing out what he calls “the three lights”—circumstances, impressions of the Spirit and passages from the Bible, but that only leaves him having to determine the voice of God by something akin to the scientific method of hypothesis and experiment:  “Often by the end of the hour or so there has stood forth within my consciousness an idea or thought with that peculiar quality, spirit and content that I have come to associate with God’s voice.  If so, I may write it down for further study. . . . Or I may decide to reconsider the matter by repeating the same process after a short period of time,” (200).  That, to me, makes the whole enterprise immediately suspect.  If God speaks clearly to His children, are we really to expect that discovering His voice will require such a long and involved process, a period of uncertainty, and even “checking the results by rerunning experiments?”  It seems much more likely to me that God would give us an infallible word, one that was utterly unmistakable.  That he has done, and it is His Word, the Bible, and all we need to know for life and godliness and even the most particular decisions in our lives is to be found there.  There’s no need here to go through the entire argument of how decision-making according to the Bible works.  That is to be found easily enough in any of the other books reviewed on this site.  But when compared with the confusing and cloudy method that Willard proposes, coming to a decision based on Biblical injunction and wisdom seems much more solid and realistic.

Finally, I think a warning should be sounded that Willard comes perilously close to the camp of open theism and the likes of Greg Boyd and Clark Pinnock.  Boyd tells the story of a young woman who was convinced that God was telling her to marry a certain man.  When that man divorced her, she came to Boyd for advice.  Now, one would think that the best way to handle such a situation would not be to question God’s knowledge of the events, but rather to question that girl’s certainty that it was God speaking to her.  That would seem to be the more vulnerable spot.  Boyd, though, never raises the question of her own discernment, but instead tells her that God had simply given her the best advice He could at the time, but had unfortunately been mistaken.  I am not sure that Willard is far from that position.  He writes, “It is a similar situation when we are given a word from God and are sure of it, but the events indicated do not come to pass.  Others may be involved, and they may not know or may not do the will of God.  And God may not override them,” (209).  Let me get this straight—God tells me He is going to bring something to pass, but because all the ducks don’t fall into line, His plans are thwarted and the still, small voice ends up crawling back to me with an embarrassed “Oops” and a blushing shrug of the shoulders.  Wouldn’t it make more sense to say that perhaps Willard is simply mistaken in thinking that what was “given” to him as a “word from God” really wasn’t in fact a word from God?  It seems like it would make more sense to question his own interpretation of the firings of his mind than it would to question the power of God to bring His purposes to effect.

I think there are probably better, more biblically careful books that hold at least some portion of what Willard is arguing.  In fact, I am sure that many people believe that God speaks personally and directly to His people without making any of the errors that are shot through Willard’s book.  In the end, though, I think it is much safer ground to put our reliance utterly and wholly in the inspired Word of God—the Bible—and not worry ourselves with trying to determine which of our vanishing thoughts is a supernatural “word” from God.  If you want to know what God says, go to the Scriptures.

By:
Greg Gilbert

Greg Gilbert is the Senior Pastor of Third Avenue Baptist Church in Louisville, Kentucky. You can find him on Twitter at @greggilbert.