I. 释经讲道

书评:《圣经神学与解经讲道》

Review
2015-02-21

原文标题与链接:Book Review: Preaching the Whole Bible as Christian Scripture, by Graeme Goldsworthy

翻译:侯淑婧

【编者注:《圣经神学与解经讲道》繁体中文版已由美国麦种传道会出版,本文对原著的引用译自英文版】

“我究竟要怎么把这段经文联系到耶稣身上呢?”听上去很熟悉吗?我认为是的。在过去的一个月,我在自己的心里听到过两次这个声音。

如果你曾在讲道中分享过一段旧约中很难的经文,或者一段新约里需要很小心处理的经文,你就知道我究竟在说什么。你可能长时间纠结于词法和语法分析,身边满了各种各样、但凡你能找到的最好的福音派的解经书。但回到那段经文还是一筹莫展。你依然在艰难寻找“钥匙”在哪里。弟兄,我们都曾走到过那一步。欢迎你加入我们这个“有心无力”的大家庭。

对那些知道我在说什么的人来讲,高伟勋的书或许成为我们的”讲章拯救者”。他将帮助讲道人避免把旧约讲成道德主义,或者把新约讲成律法主义。更正面的是,高伟勋在教导一种释经学,来帮助讲道人从圣经的每一页去发掘耶稣基督——甚至在他的名字并没有出现的地方。

高伟勋的目标是,“为讲道者提供一本手册,来帮助他们从一而终地把以基督为中心的方法运用到他们的讲道当中”(ix)。第一部分列下了他的方法。第二部分把那种方法应用到了圣经的每一种文学体裁中。

方法

高伟勋强烈提出,“所有圣经经文的含义都是指向拿撒勒人耶稣,神的受膏者,这个人和他的事工”(16)。那就意味着我们这些讲道人,不只是圣经字句的传讲者。我们理应是福音的传讲者——耶稣基督和他钉十字架的传讲者(林前2:1-5)。耶稣指着整本圣经说,都是关于他的(路24:24-26,44-47,约5:39)。保罗也认同这点(罗10:4;林后1:20)。高伟勋强调说,“耶稣是解开圣经的钥匙”(25),也挑战讲道人每周都问自己,“这段经文,还有我的讲道最终如何见证基督”(21)?这是一个多么彻底又耗费心力的问题!

高伟勋的方法就是圣经神学,是“从圣经作者的角度去理解”的神学,也是敏感于圣经作者在神的救赎计划中所处的历史位置的神学(26)。并不像我们从系统神学所得的快照,圣经神学给我们展现一幅动态的画面(27)。随着经文的发展,它可能在追溯一个单一主题,也可能是整个圣经救赎历史的情节主线。在这种神学思考的背后是基于一种假设,整本圣经66卷书讲述了一个故事,故事的高潮是耶稣和他的传道生活,它只适用于和他在属灵上联结的人。

高伟勋主张,一位讲道人可以通过许多不同的方法回到耶稣:通过从预表到原型,从应许到成就,或者从救赎历史到其末世目标。但他的方法的实质,尤其是当提到旧约中的基督的时候,是他所说的预表学。它并不是单单剥离出旧约中指向基督的经文。而是说,整个其实的框架都是指向基督的。

总的来看,从亚伯拉罕到大卫这段以色列历史时期,是在基督里应许成就的一个预表。在那段历史时期(预表)和基督(原型)到来之间,整个预言的总述是在确认这种预表学的架构。我们这里为讲道人处理旧约文本提供了架构基础,无论从旧约中哪个部分开始,关联到现代的信徒。然而,我要再次声明,最重要的是,原型不是基督徒,而是基督。

实际来说,意思就是“处理任何文本的含义,必须先从它在神学意义上如何关联到基督开始”(113)。我们不能只是“学像大卫那样的勇敢——顺便提醒大家,千万不要像大卫那样犯奸淫!”因为跳过了大卫这个预表所指向的原型——基督。

换句话说,我们一定不可以从古代文本直接跳到现代听众。总是要先将这段经文指向所见证的基督,之后才到听众。无论从经验,还是神学和释经学的角度,这个顺序都是正确的。跳过耶稣基督而直接指向神,就等于把祂是作为一个审判者,而不是救主。为什么我们会想要应用神的话语,却忽略了一件事,就是首先指向它最终如何在耶稣拯救人和他的服侍上成就的呢?“谁能登耶和华的山?”诗人问。“手洁心清的人”就是答案(诗24:3-4)。我并非如此。我的心并不清洁。但基督的心却是,而且因为我凭信心与祂联结,我可以坦然无惧地来到祂的施恩宝座前(来4:16)!

高伟勋的观点就是简单地指出,圣经中的每个部分都在教导,作为基督徒,我们所需要的一切都在基督里。属于祂的一切现在都归给了我们(林前3:21-23)。当讲道人将圣经应用到基督徒身上的时候,他们就是要呈现出基督已经为信靠祂的人所赢得的是何等丰富,在此基础上鼓励他们借由已经在属灵上与基督联合,“活出他们已经具备的样式”。

用高伟勋本人的话讲,“圣经为基督做见证。若真如此,圣经的见证到一种程度对我们来说,我们就在基督里”(116)。再见,道德主义。以基督为中心的讲道,欢迎。

方法应用

这本书的下半部分将这种方法应用在新、旧约的每一种文学体裁中。最后几章节的内容都把文学体裁放入到圣经神学的语境当中,从具体的文本给出多种示例,考量文学和历史事件,并且为那种文学体裁总结出设计讲章的提示。

高伟勋以一章内容,关于如何循着一个圣经神学的主题,或者救恩历史的发展,来组织一个系列讲章作为结束。

评价

讲道人,《圣经神学与解经讲道》是一本必读书。它的神学意义丰富,促进你的思考,使你灵性成长,并提供实践指导。还有就是,书中对以基督为中心在整本圣经中的全景式呈现,是让人非常兴奋的。读完这本书,你不仅会想重读它,也会想重读你的圣经。


许可声明:你可以各种形式使用、复制与分发本文,但不允许修改文中内容(更正翻译错误除外),不允许收取超过复制成本的费用,并且分发不得超过1000个拷贝。如果要在网络或邮件中转贴,请务必保留译文链接。任何例外需征求九标志中文事工的许可。

请在分发时保留本许可声明和以下信息:9Marks网址:http://cn.9marks.org,电子邮件地址:chinese@9marks.org

本文标签

Book Review: Preaching the Whole Bible as Christian Scripture, by Graeme Goldsworthy

Review
03.05.2010

“How in the world do I get to Jesus from here?” Sound familiar? It does to me. I’ve heard it from myself twice in the last month.

If you’ve ever preached a hard text from the Old Testament, or even a tricky one from the New, you know what I’m talking about. You might be awash in lexical and grammatical analysis and surrounded by the best evangelical commentaries you can find. But the text still feels locked, and you’re fumbling around for the key. Brother, we’ve all been there. Welcome to the fraternity of the well-intentioned but confused.

For all those who know what I’m talking about, Graeme Goldsworthy’s book may be a sermon-saver. He’ll help keep preachers from preaching moralism from the Old Testament or legalistic browbeating from the New. More positively, Goldsworthy teaches a hermeneutic that should help preachers discover Jesus Christ on every page of Scripture—even on the pages in which his name does not show up.

Goldsworthy’s aim is “to provide a handbook for preachers that will help them apply a consistently Christ-centered approach to their sermons” (ix). Part 1 lays out his method. Part 2 applies that method to every kind of biblical literature.

METHOD

Goldsworthy contends that “the center and reference point for the meaning of all Scripture is the person and work of Jesus of Nazareth, the Christ of God” (16). That means that we preachers are not simply preachers of the Bible. We are preachers of the gospel—preachers of Christ and him crucified (1 Cor 2:1-5). Jesus says the whole Bible is about him (Luke 24:24-26, 44-47; John 5:39). Paul agrees (Rom 10:4; 2 Cor 1:20). Armed with such assurances, Goldsworthy affirms that “Jesus is the interpretive key to the Bible” (25), and challenges preachers to ask ourselves every week, “How does this passage of Scripture, and consequently my sermon, testify to Christ” (21)? What a searching and harrowing question.

Goldsworthy’s method is biblical theology, which is theology that is “understood from the perspective of the biblical writers” and is sensitive to the biblical writer’s location in the history of God’s saving plan (26). Instead of the snap shot that we get from systematic theology, biblical theology gives us a moving picture (27). It may trace a single theme as it develops through Scripture, or it may trace the entire overarching plot line of salvation in biblical history. Behind this kind of theologizing is the assumption that the sixty-six books of the Bible tell a single story that climaxes in the person and work of Jesus, and it applies only to those who are in spiritual union with him.

Goldsworthy argues that a preacher can get to Jesus in a number of different ways: by moving from type to antitype, from promise to fulfillment, or through salvation history all the way to its eschatological goal. But the meat of his method, especially as it relates to preaching Christ from the OT, is what he calls macro-typology. It’s not just isolated OT texts that point to Christ. The whole framework of revelation points to Jesus:

The epoch of Israel’s history from Abraham to David is, as a whole, a type of the fulfillment it finds in Christ. Between that historic epoch (type) and Christ (antitype) comes the whole prophetic recapitulation that confirms this typological structure. We have here the structural basis for the preacher’s application of OT texts, from anywhere in the OT, to the contemporary Christian. I repeat, however, the antitype is not first and foremost the Christian, but Christ. (112-113)

Practically speaking, what this means is that “the application of the meaning of any text must proceed theologically via the application it has to Christ” (113). We can’t get away with “be courageous like David was courageous – and by the way, don’t commit adultery like David did!” because it skips over the antitype to whom David as a type points—Christ.

In other words, we must never move immediately from ancient text to modern hearer. We must always go from the text to Christ to whom the text testifies, and only then to the hearer. This order is as true experientially as it is theologically and hermeneutically. Relating to God outside of Jesus Christ is to relate to him as Judge, not as Savior. Why would we want to apply any text of God’s Word without first moving through the text’s fulfillment in Jesus’ saving person and work? “Who may ascend the hill of the Lord?” asks the Psalmist. “He who has clean hands and a pure heart” is the answer (Ps. 24:3-4). That’s not me. My heart isn’t pure. But Christ’s is, and because I am united to him by faith I can boldly ascend to the Lord’s throne (Heb. 4:16)!

Goldsworthy’s point is simply that every text of Scripture teaches that, as Christians, we have everything we need in Christ. Everything that belongs to him now belongs to us (1 Cor. 3:21-23). As preachers then apply the Bible to Christians, they are simply exposing the riches of what Christ has already won for them, and on that basis encouraging Christians “to become who they already are” by virtue of their spiritual union with Christ.

In Goldsworthy’s words, “The Scriptures testify to Jesus. If this be the case, then the Scriptures only testify to us insofar as we are in him” (116). Goodbye, moralism. Hello, Christ-centered sermon.

APPLYING THE METHOD

The second half of the book applies this method consecutively to each kind of literature in the Old Testament and the New. Each of these last few chapters treats the genre in its biblical-theological context, gives multiple examples from specific texts, considers literary and historical matters, and concludes with tips for planning sermons from that type of literature.

Goldsworthy ends with a chapter on how to construct a sermon series that traces a biblical-theological theme, or one that traces the movement of salvation history.

EVALUATION

Preacher, Preaching the Whole Bible as Christian Scripture is a must read. It is theologically rich, intellectually stimulating, spiritually engaging, and practically helpful. But even more, it is absolutely exhilarating in its panoramic display of the Christ-centeredness of all Scripture. Read this book, and you’ll not only want to re-read it, you’ll want to re-read your Bible.