V. 布道事工

书评:传福音与神的主权 作者:J.I.巴刻

Review
2019-05-07

原文标题与链接:Book Review: Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God, by J. I. Packer

翻译:颖嘉

 

如果神是有主权的,那我为什么还要去分享福音呢?如果他在实行拯救,那何必又去传福音呢?对我来说,使神的主权与我传福音的责任彼此调和,并非易事。这是一场信仰危机,在三年的时间里时起时伏。 圣经里怎么会教导说,神在拯救上拥有主权,同时我们还必须要传福音呢?

理解论点

巴刻的书提供了一个简洁而令人信服的论点,揭示出传福音和神的主权是如何共存的,如果理解得当,这两者之间应该是彼此巩固的。在这本书中,巴刻并不是在捍卫神的主权这一教义本身。他认为,神圣的主权这一教义并不妨碍传福音,而是支撑着它,并给我们这些布道者动力来大胆地,坚持不懈地传福音。

巴刻认为在神的主权与需要传福音之间的,这种所谓的不一致,是强加在经文上的。这种错误的对立来自于“教会里的错误 —理性主义思辨的侵入;对系统一致性的热情;不愿意承认奥秘事情的存在;拒绝承认神比人更有智慧,并且随之使得圣经臣服于人类自己想当然的逻辑。(22) ”神圣的主权(神作为王)和人类在他面前的责任 (神作为审判者),两者都是一样的真实。

那么我们如何处理这些看似不相融的,但又是不可否认的圣经原则呢?巴刻回答道,“接受事实的本相,并学会与之共存……把矛盾的表象放在你自己理解的缺失上,不要认为这两个原则是对立的选择,而是目前,在某种程度上你没有掌握,它们是彼此互补的”(26)。

把碎片拼在一起

一个可以被彻底理解的神,是按人的形象所造的神。 神圣的主权和人类的责任是共存的,我们必须肯定圣经中的这两个真理,让它们指导和管理我们的生活(43)。正如巴刻解释的“神没有给我们看他治理的真实情况,是为了不给我们一个忽视他命令的借口。”(41)

回到我的开场白:如果神有主权,那么我为什么还要传福音呢?答案在这里:因为神命定拯救,神也命定拯救的方式,无论结果如何,他都得荣耀。拯救者对于所有人都是一样的,就是神。拯救的方式对于所有人也是一样的,即福音所宣讲的信息。 神施行拯救(罗9),人施行宣讲 (罗 10)。神的道是何等难以测度,难以识透!(罗 11)

我确信神是有绝对主权的,并且这样的确信给了我信心,就是他将会通过传福音来工作,不管结果如何,“因为我们在神面前,无论在得救的人身上,或灭亡的人身上,都有基督馨香之气”(林后 2:15). 多么荣耀的思想!不管我传福音的结果如何(方法),一个确定的结果就是,在神面前,我是有基督的馨香。他是喜悦的。 他以这样的宣告为乐。他为此而得荣耀。他以此而拯救了他的子民。

巴刻进一步解释传福音是一种信息的传递,而不是要产生某种效果。传福音就是简单地宣讲福音,不管它对听者有什么影响(49)。这是关于神,罪和基督的消息; 它是一种对信心回应和悔改的呼召。为此什么激励我们来完成这项任务呢?首要的是对神的爱和注重他的荣耀,其次是对人的爱以及关心他人的福祉。

有用的门训资源

巴刻的《传福音与神的主权》,被认为是现代的经典,且有充分的理由。这本小书充满了教牧的洞见和依据圣经的思考。因此,有许多教牧性的应用。

如果你在传福音当中胆怯,请阅读此书。

或许因为惧怕人,你播撒福音的种子很慢。如果是这样,巴刻展示了神圣的主权应该使得我们在人面前是大胆自信的,在神面前是谦卑的,在我们的祷告中是恳切的,祈祷他能拯救失丧者。

如果你在传福音时有焦虑,请阅读此书

在马可福音 4:26-29里,这个人,撒种在地上,然后才能去睡觉。

他并不焦急,整晚盯在那里好奇种子是否会生长。他不是想哄它长大。土地会自己出产;撒种者的角色就是将种子撒开。

也许你正在播撒福音的种子,但你不是撒好种就睡觉了,而是撒好种就紧张了。 巴刻揭示了神圣的主权是如何“通过创造成功的希望,并将此放在我们心里,来巩固福音传播以及支撑传福音的人“ (135)。

如果你在传福音上面懒散,请阅读此书。

如果你在基督徒喜乐的传福音职分上变得懒惰,巴刻的讲道和教牧的敏锐性能帮助你。 例如,巴刻写道: 你不是在干傻事。 你不是在浪费你的时间和他人的时间。 你没有理由为你的信息感到羞耻,或者半心半意地,有谦意地传递它。你绝对有理由放胆,自由,自然地传讲福音,并满怀成功的希望。因为神能令他的真理奏效,而你和我不能。神能使他的真理战胜看似最刚硬的不信者。你和我永远不能忽略掉任何一个看似无望和神也无法企及的人,如果我们相信他那至高的恩典(128)。

三年的时间里,我为着神的主权和人的责任如何才能相融而摔跤。我害怕神绝对的主权,以某种方式,在削弱我的信心。我害怕如果神是完全掌权的,那么我会失去对失丧者得救的热切与同情。

在神学研究的那些年里,这本书对我来说是极大的帮助。这本书易于理解,对神的主权有着无比美好的介绍,并且也激励着我们去分享福音。这本书简洁明了地对真理进行了解释,这将点燃你追求喜乐的基督徒对传福音的愿望。


许可声明:你可以各种形式使用、复制与分发本文,但不允许修改文中内容(更正翻译错误除外),不允许收取超过复制成本的费用,并且分发不得超过1000个拷贝。如果要在网络或邮件中转贴,请务必保留原文与译文链接。任何例外需征求九标志中文事工的许可。

请在分发时保留本许可声明。

本文标签

Book Review: Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God, by J. I. Packer

Review
02.05.2019

If God is sovereign, then why do I share the gospel? If he’s doing the saving, then why bother evangelizing? For me, reconciling God’s sovereignty with my responsibility to proclaim the gospel was not easy. It was a crisis of faith that ebbed and flowed over three years. How could the Bible teach that God is sovereign in salvation and that we must share the gospel?

UNDERSTANDING THE ARGUMENT

Packer’s book offers a concise and compelling argument unpacking how evangelism and the sovereignty of God co-exist, and if properly understood, enhance one another. In this book, Packer isn’t defending the doctrine of God’s sovereignty, per se. He’s arguing that the doctrine of divine sovereignty doesn’t inhibit evangelism, but sustains it and gives us, the evangelists, the “resilience we need to evangelize boldly and persistently” (15).

Packer argues that the supposed inconsistency between God’s sovereignty and the need to evangelize is an imposition on the text of Scripture. This false dichotomy comes from “error in the church—the intruding of rationalistic speculations, the passion for systematic consistency, a reluctance to recognize the existence of mystery and to let God be wiser than men, and a consequent subjecting of Scripture to the supposed demands of human logic” (22). Divine sovereignty (God as King) and human responsibility before him (God as Judge) can both be equally true.

So what should we do with these seemingly irreconcilable, yet undeniable biblical principles? Packer answers, “Accept it for what it is, and learn to live with it . . . put down the semblance of contradiction to the deficiency of your own understanding; think of the two principles as not rival alternatives but, in some way that at present you do not grasp, complementary to each other” (26).

PUTTING THE PIECES TOGETHER

A God that could be understood exhaustively would be a God in man’s image. Divine sovereignty and human responsibility coexist, and we must affirm both truths from Scripture and let them guide and govern our lives (43). As Packer explains “God did not give us the reality of his rule in order to give us an excuse for neglecting his orders” (41).

Back to my opening question: If God is sovereign, then why do I share the gospel? Here’s the answer: because God ordains salvation and God ordains the means of salvation, which glorifies him no matter the result. The One who saves is the same for all: God. And the means of salvation is the same for all: proclamation of the gospel message. God does the saving (Romans 9), and man does the proclaiming (Romans 10). How unsearchable and inscrutable are the ways of God (Romans 11)!

I’m assured that God is sovereign, and this assurance gives me confidence that he’ll work through evangelism, regardless of results, for we are “the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing” (2 Corinthians 2:15). What a glorious thought! No matter the apparent result of my evangelism (means), one definite result is that I am an aroma of Christ to God. He is pleased. He delights in the proclamation. He is glorified in it. He saves his people through it.

Packer further explains that evangelism is a message delivered, not an effect produced. Evangelism is simply preaching the gospel, irrespective of its effect on the hearer (49). It’s a message about God, sin, and Christ; it’s a summons to respond in faith and repentance. What should motivate us for this task? Primarily the love of God and concern for his glory—followed by love of man and concern for his welfare (82).

A USEFUL DISCIPLING RESOURCE

Packer’s Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God is considered a modern classic, and for good reason. This little book is brimming with pastoral insight and biblical reflection. As such, it has a number of pastoral uses.

Read this book if you’re timid in evangelism

Perhaps you’re slow to sow the seed of the gospel because you fear man. If that’s you, Packer shows how divine sovereignty ought to make us bold and confident before men as well as humble before God and earnest in our prayer that that he would sovereignly save the lost.

Read this book if you’re anxious in evangelism

The man in Mark 4:26–29 scatters seed on the ground and then is able to go to sleep. He’s not anxious over the seed, staying up all night wondering if it will grow. He’s not trying to coax it to grow. The earth yields produce by itself; the sower’s role was simply to scatter the seed.

Maybe you’re scattering the seed of the gospel, but rather than scattering and sleeping, you’re scattering and stressing. Packer unpacks how divine sovereignty undergirds evangelism and upholds the evangelist by “creating a hope of success that could not otherwise be entertained” (135).

Read this book if you’re slothful in evangelism

Packer’s preaching and pastoral sensibilities can help you if you’ve become lazy in the joyful Christian duty of evangelism. For instance, Packer writes:

You are not on a fools’ errand. You are not wasting either your time or theirs. You have no reason to be ashamed of your message, or half-hearted and apologetic in delivering it. You have every reason to be bold, and free, and natural, and hopeful of success. For God can give his truth an effectiveness that you and I cannot give it. God can make his truth triumphant to the conversion of the most seemingly hardened unbeliever. You and I will never write off anyone as hopeless and beyond the reach of God if we believe in the sovereignty of his grace (128).

For three years, I wrestled with how divine sovereignty and human responsibility could be reconciled. I feared that the absolute sovereignty of God might, in some way, undermine my faith. I feared that if God were that sovereign, then I’d lose my zeal and compassion for the lost.

This book would have been an enormous help to me in those years of theological searching. It’s an accessible and unmatched introduction to the sovereignty of God that also energizes us to share the gospel. The simply explained truths of this book will ignite your desire to pursue the joyful Christian duty of evangelism.