IX. 教会带领

书评:《合我心意的牧者》

Review
2015-01-23

原文标题与链接:Book Review: Shepherds After My Own Heart, by Timothy Laniak

翻译:张金星

Shepherds After My Own Heart: Pastoral Traditions and Leadership in the Bible

像提摩太·拉尼亚克(Timothy Laniak)所著的《合我心意的牧者》这类好的圣经神学书总是能帮助我更好地激起学习圣经的欲望。阅读这些书宛若从一个老友那儿学到些意味深长的名堂:“我从未将那些提到你的只言片语拼凑在一起。但现在这很有意义。哇!”

拉尼亚克在他的一本书中提过他试图研究什么。当今世界,各类领导力的书出版节奏简直令人眼花缭乱。他想知道圣经是否讲过这个话题呢。好问题!

回答这个问题不仅仅需要词汇索引搜索“牧者”这个词。“圣经神学寻找首要主旋律以及整个正典叙述中的象征结构。在摩西五经中,“牧者”比喻的出现次数屈指可数。但是通过后续作者们的帮助,我们发现神用了旷野的故事来展示牧者是什么:“你曾借摩西和亚伦的手,引导你的百姓,好像羊群一般。”(诗77:20)。像这些(还有其他许多)句子让读者明白,摩西在旷野中所作的是牧者的工作。后面的经文帮助解释前面的经文。

那么,我可以毫不犹豫地说,《合我心意的牧者》这本书非凡之处就在于它展示了圣经当中牧羊的比喻是多么得重要。我自认为并非言过其实,这是圣经故事的主要线索之一,或是将其他所有串在一起的梁木。就好像我死后,我太太写了一篇我们共同生活的自传。无论她对“婚姻”、“妻子”或“丈夫”这些字眼儿是多么地惜墨如金,读者还是能够从少数这样的词语中明白我们生命连结的内在关系。我所做的一切事,在与我太太的关系中都体现出我曾是她的丈夫。类似地,拉尼亚克在不同体裁中,向我们展示了救赎历史进程中神与他子民的关系:与他们同住、保护他们、牧养他们、管理他们,引导他们。神是他子民的牧者,这是一个多面的比喻,很好地捕捉到了神与他子民关系的很多方面。不仅如此,拉尼亚克在书中阐明了圣经如何展示了“神选择人类代言人的倾向”(248页)来作为神呼召他的牧者来代表他自己的法则以及照顾羊群。

概要

本书的写作对象明确旨在学者以及”周到的牧师”。当然,遗憾的是拉尼亚克暗示有一类粗心大意的牧师存在。然而,基于牧师畅销书排行榜的情况,他所阐述的观点的确有道理。这本书读起来同约翰·马克斯韦尔(John Maxwell)的书不同。它读起来像是脚注众多、目录严谨的专题论文。第一章是个博学的讨论,内容是比喻的含义– “将普遍事物作关联的方法”。第二章和第三章探讨这个特别的方法如何在古代近东被人理解的,以及它在美索不达米亚、埃及和希腊的诸神祗及国王们是如何被用来描述的。

 

第4章开始查经,本章描述了神自己在旷野中带领人民的牧养及保护工作,随后通过牧者原型摩西体现出来。第5章继续描写神自己管理的牧养工作,然后在第二个牧者原型大卫身上得到体现。

拉尼亚克接下来从先知传统来追踪这个比喻,花时间在以赛亚书、耶利米书、以西结书和撒迦利亚书中展示更多意义重大的节选(诗篇的评论则散布在整本书中)。然后他转移到四福音书来看这位好牧者,他使摩西和大卫作为牧者国王的原型得到完全,并带领他的羊群第二次通过旷野出埃及。

跟踪这个比喻的查经止于彼得前书和启示录(有意思的是他略过了保罗,因为“虽然保罗在他的宣教中相当的‘牧养型’,偶尔致力于第二次出埃及记神学……偶尔也提及作为牧者的教会领袖,但牧养形象并不是保罗书信中突出的中心”;25,n.7)。简要展示了神的帐幕在那神和羔羊直接与人同住的新耶路撒冷之后,拉尼亚克用这个引人入胜的观察得出查经结论,使摩西—旷野的支流与大卫—君王的支流交汇在一起:

救恩历史中最大的反讽之一就是:属天的耶路撒冷原来一直由以色列人漂流分散的旷野,以及那承载它名字的地上之城所预表,在这两段支流中 ,那位大牧者,神的羔羊一直教导他们跟随他去到他们真正的家乡(245页)。

你看到我称之为比喻或者栋梁的东西了吗?哇。

本书由几个贯穿始终的反思及一个后记而结束。我稍后会回来再提。

评论

假如我有个圣经研究的博士学位,我也许可以提供一个与本书水平相当的回应。换言之,假如我是汤姆·史瑞纳(Tom Schreiner)或凯文·麦克法登(Kevin McFadden),我也许会观察到一些释经疏忽或正典方面的蹩脚之处。然而我没有,也不曾有。

那么容我对作者未能做一些他从没打算做的事略微严厉地批评一番,尤其他还达到了他的协会标准,并且更重要的是他的书还在该系列中出版(我最爱的一本书)。由于本书未对当今的牧师多提供点儿实际应用以及对神的颂赞,我不禁要表达一丝悲伤。当然,本书也没打算提供两者的任何一个。然而我能否以一个基督徒的身份为此感到悲哀?当加尔文在其《基督教要义》及释经书中将解经,系统神学以及敬拜赞美揉和在一起时,看上去如何?一个圣经学者可以同时陈明观点、提出假设并且赞美神吗?如果教授不是仅仅将他无偏见的研究成果呈给那些淡化稀释扭曲真理的传道人,而是将教授与传道人的身份合为一体呢?正因为拉尼亚克按他的方式通过如此惊人的文字和奇妙的真理来工作,我的一部分想对他说“宣讲吧,弟兄!”我的另一部分则想高唱出来。

好的,感谢您此刻听我说这些。我希望这甚至不是拉尼亚克的错。回到书评。此书非常优秀,作为牧者,无论你是深思熟虑还是轻率无知,都该读它,两类牧师都可以因此更好地理解圣经,也更好地明白他们的角色。(我听说拉尼亚克有一卷正在写的续作,题目是《当牧者守望羊群》。那本书将带给我们许多释解成果,从而对地方教会的事工产生影响。)

思考

如我所说,本书对全面的观察总结了很有帮助的七点。第一,牧者的带领在其范围内是广泛的。这是一个抓住了许多角色的比喻——保护者,供给者,以及引导者——这就是为什么先知祭司、和君王被多方面地使用。 牧师是多面手,需要知道如何对他们在特定背景下的各种问题和机会做出反应。 沿着这些线索,良好的牧养需要对权柄有仁慈的使用 :某些场合需要激进的保护;其他场合需要温柔的呵护。一个人需要知道如何兼顾彼此。

第二,不合格的牧者忘记了他们服事的羊群是属谁的。好比耶稣比喻里的雇工,他们只在乎他们自己。(约10:13)。

第三,我们已经提过,圣经呈现出神选择人类代言人的倾向。值得注意的是,神指出人是按着他的形象样式造的,来行使他君尊的治理和权柄,对于牧师而言,这将表现得更加尖锐和突出。基于这个事实,重新拥有敬畏感可以帮助那些轻率的牧师变得更深思熟虑。

第四,圣经中领袖的神学理论“只能基于神和他在地上工作的神学全景来理解”。这需要有基督论、救赎论、教会论和人论的理解基础。我们在带领时如有失误则容易自我定罪。但我希望拉尼亚克在此处的挑战激发我们,反而透过思考所有令人兴奋的可能性,来更深刻且更神学性地理解领袖。

第五,我们已经提过,牧羊人的比喻是一个更宽广的历史性、救赎性叙事的一部分。

第六,圣经为事工使用其他比喻。牧养的比喻并未穷尽。一个事工是什么以及做什么的可能性。

第七,牧者形象表明了圣经对于把平凡的形象作为启示媒介的偏爱。

最后这点引向拉尼亚克措辞震撼的一页的后记。既然圣经展示了一种对平常、普通形象的偏爱,他坚决主张我们今天在教会中的责任是与会众交通时发现“生动的类比等价物”,就好比“牧者”在“相关的老生常谈的体系”里怎样和我们的圣经先辈交通的那样。也许是首席执行官?或者教练?拉尼亚克承认,他想不到一个比喻能与牧羊人的“多重含义”的圣经比喻完全吻合,因此一组比喻组合起来可能是需要的。他提出使徒保罗将这个功课理解地很好。保罗极少用牧者的形象来描绘理想的领袖,但他用一系列的比喻来叙述一个领袖应该是怎样的——奴隶、朋友、助产士、父亲、大使和监工。

那么我们觉得这个提法怎么样呢?拉尼亚克这是在破坏他250页中大量篇幅的细致释经吗?不再谈论神学原则的提议是会诱惑人的,好像他破坏了神话语的权威性和全备性似的。然而恐怕不是这样。我认为这不是关于圣经翻译原则或激进的处境化之间的对话。我想他的言论倒是更接近于布道谈话。任何时候当一位讲道者读相关的经文段落,然后说些这种话:“作者在此处的观点就好像当……的时候……”或者“圣经作者的意思怎样同我们今天的情形联系起来呢?”如此说来,我适度赞成拉尼亚克的提法。

话虽如此,我仍会更加实事求是地评注,我不知道牧养的想法与我们不相干。我从没做过一次调查,但是如今的人们对牧者做什么不清楚吗?还有他们不清楚的程度,需要花功夫去让他们明白吗?可能图像缺乏对一个农民原该有的情感共鸣。也许这就是为什么保罗对他的城市里的听众不太用这一套的原因。我也不确定。

然而,在最终的分析里,我相信我们对神话语所代表的立场,可以就清晰性和全备性方面都有绝对的信心。有更多的牧师雄心勃勃地按照神的呼召追求他们的工作和生活,去牧养……去聚集……去保护……去指引……去认识……祂的羊群……不惜以他们自己的生命作代价……并且抛弃像首席执行官、喜剧演员、娱乐明星、民意调查者等比喻,我们的教会看起来将与众不同。拉尼亚克帮助我们重获这一愿景。


许可声明:你可以各种形式使用、复制与分发本文,但不允许修改文中内容(更正翻译错误除外),不允许收取超过复制成本的费用,并且分发不得超过1000个拷贝。如果要在网络或邮件中转贴,请务必保留译文链接。任何例外需征求九标志中文事工的许可。请在分发时保留本许可声明和以下信息:9Marks网址:http://cn.9marks.org,电子邮件地址:chinese@9marks.org,免费电话:(888) 543-1030。

Book Review: Shepherds After My Own Heart, by Timothy Laniak

Review
03.05.2010

Good biblical theologies like Timothy Laniak’s Shepherds After My Heart make me want to know my Bible better. Reading them is like learning something significant about an old friend: “I never put those pieces together about you. But now it makes sense. Wow!”

What prompted his study, Laniak says in sentence one of the book, is the dizzying pace at which books on leadership are being published these days. He wondered if the Bible has anything to say about the topic. Good question.

And answering it requires more than a concordance and a word search for “shepherd.” Biblical theologies look for overarching themes and typological structures rooted in the narrative of the entire canon. The “shepherd” metaphor only occurs several times in the Pentateuch. But with the help of later writers we discover that God uses the wilderness narratives to fill out what a shepherd is: “You led your people like a flock by the hand of Moses and Aaron” (Ps. 77:20). Statements like these (and many others) allow the reader to understand that what Moses did in the wilderness was the work of a shepherd. Later Scripture helps to interpret earlier Scripture.

Let me say right off the bat, then, what’s remarkable about Shepherds After My Own Heart is that it demonstrates how important the shepherding metaphor is in the Bible. I don’t think I’m overstating the matter by suggesting that it’s one of the main characters in the Bible’s storyline, or a girder beam that helps hold it all together. It’s as if my wife wrote an autobiography after I died about our lives together. No matter how much or how little she used the words “marriage” or “wife” or “husband,” the reader would know that even the occasional use of such words pointed to the internal structure of our lives together. Everything that I did in relation to my wife would fill out what it meant for me to have been a husband. Likewise, Laniak moves from genre to genre through the course of redemption history to show how God relates to his people by dwelling with them, by protecting them, by feeding them, by ruling over them, and by guiding them. God relates to his people as a shepherd, a multi-faceted metaphor that wonderfully captures many aspects of God’s relationship to his people. Not only that, Laniak shows how Scripture reveals a “divine preference for human agency” (248) as God calls his undershepherds to represent his own rule and care over the flock.

OUTLINE

The book is explicitly aimed at academics and “thoughtful pastors.” It’s a shame, of course, that Laniak implies by this that a category even exists for thoughtless pastors. Nonetheless, his stated intent probably makes sense in light of what’s on pastor bestseller lists. The book doesn’t read like John Maxwell. It reads like a footnote-packed, bibliographically-intense dissertation. Chapter 1 is an erudite discussion of what metaphors are—”systems of associated commonplaces” (!). Chapters 2 and 3 explore how this particular system of associated commonplaces would have been understood in the ancient Near East, as well as how it was used to characterize Mesopotamian, Egyptian, and Greek gods and kings.

The Bible study begins in chapter 4, where God’s own pastoral and protective work of leading a people through the wilderness is described and then embodied in the archetypal shepherd, Moses. It continues in chapter 5, where God’s own pastoral work of ruling is described and then embodied in a second archetypal shepherd, David.

Laniak next traces the metaphor into the prophetic tradition, taking time to explore the more significant passages in Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and Zechariah. (Commentary provided by the Psalms is interspersed through the entire book.) He then moves to the four Gospels and a certain Good Shepherd who fulfills both the Mosaic and Davidic archetypes as the Shepherd King and who leads his flock though the wilderness of a second exodus.

The Bible study ends by tracing the metaphor into 1 Peter and Revelation (he skips Paul, interestingly, because “Although Paul is quite ‘pastoral’ in his ministry, engages second exodus theology at times…and refers to church leaders as shepherds occasionally, pastoral imagery is not a central, organizing rubric in the Pauline corpus”; 25, n.7). After briefly exploring God’s tabernacling presence in the new Jerusalem, where God and the Lamb dwell directly with the people, Laniak concludes his study of Scripture with this fascinating observation, drawing together the Mosaic-wilderness stream and the Davidic-royal stream:

Here is one of the rich ironies in the history of salvation: the heavenly Jerusalem, it turns out, was all along as much anticipated by the deserts and dispersions of the community’s journey as by the earthly city bearing its name. In both experiences the Shepherd-Lamb was teaching them to follow him to their real home (245).

Do you see what I mean by calling the metaphor a girder beam? Wow.

The book concludes with several overarching reflections and an epilogue, which I’ll return to in a moment.

CRITIQUE

Perhaps if I had a Ph.D. in biblical studies, I could offer a response at the level at which the book is written. In other words, maybe if I was a Tom Schreiner or a Kevin McFadden I would have observed some exegetical oversight or canonical foul play. I’m not, and I didn’t.

So let me be slightly uncharitable and critique the author for failing to do something he never intended to do, particularly since he’s fulfilling the criteria of both his guild and, what’s more, the series in which his book is published (a favorite of mine). I can’t help but express a modicum of sadness that the book didn’t offer a little more application for the pastor today as well as doxology. No, the book doesn’t mean to provide either. Yet may I, simply as a Christian, have a moment to wax lugubrious? Whatever happened to the days of Calvin’s Institutes and Commentaries when exegesis, systematic, and praise coincided? When a Bible scholar could point, postulate, and praise in the same moment? When the professor didn’t simply hand the results of his dispassionate research to the preacher to dumb down, dilute, and distort, but the professor and preacher were the same man? As Laniak worked his way through such amazing texts and such wonderful truths, part of me wanted to say to him, “Preach it, brother!” Another part of me wanted to shout out in song!

Okay, thank you for my moment. I expect it’s not even Laniak’s fault. Back to the review. The book is excellent, and should be read by every thoughtful and thoughtless pastor, both so that they might better understand the word, and so that they might better understand their own role. (I have heard that Laniak has a follow-up volume in the works that brings much of the exegetical fruit of this work to bear on the ministry of the local church, which will be titled, “While Shepherds Watch Their Flocks.”)

MEDITATION

As I said, the book concludes with seven very helpful comprehensive observations. First, shepherd leadership is comprehensive in its scope. It’s a metaphor that captures a number of roles—protector, provider, and guide—which is why it’s variously used of prophets, priests, and kings. Pastors are generalists that need to know how to respond to a diversity of problems and opportunities in their particular context. Along these lines, good shepherding calls for the benevolent use of authority: some occasions call for militant protection; other occasions call for gentle care. A man needs to know how to do both.

Second, bad shepherds forget whose flock they serve. Like the hired hand in Jesus’ parable, they care only for themselves (John 10:13).

Third, the Scriptures present a divine preference for human agency, as we have already mentioned. Remarkably, God enlists humans created in his image to exercise his royal rule and authority, a representation that’s made even more pointed and prominent in pastors. Recapturing a sense of awe over this fact may just help some thoughtless pastors become more thoughtful.

Fourth, a theology of leadership in the Bible “can only be understood in terms of a fully integrated theological vision of God and his work on earth.” It requires an understanding of Christology and soteriology, ecclesiology and anthropology. It would be easy to condemn ourselves for failing to have done this in our leadership. But I hope Laniak’s challenge here excites us instead to think through all the exciting possibilities for understanding leadership more deeply and theologically.

Fifth, the metaphor of shepherd is part of a larger historical redemptive narrative, as we have already mentioned.

Sixth, Scripture uses other metaphors for the work of ministers. The shepherding metaphor does not exhaust the possibilities of what a minister is and does.

Seventh, the image of shepherd points to the Bible’s predilection for ordinary images as revelatory vehicles.

This last point leads into Laniak’s initially shocking one-page epilogue. Since the Bible demonstrates a predilection for common, ordinary images, he argues that our responsibility in the church today is to find “dynamic equivalents” which communicate to congregations what the “system of associated commonplaces” that “shepherd” would have communicated to our biblical forbearers. CEO, perhaps? Or coach? Laniak concedes that he cannot think of a metaphor that overlaps perfectly with the “multivalent” biblical metaphor of shepherd, so a mix of metaphors will probably be necessary. The apostle Paul, he proposes, understood this lesson quite well. Paul seldom used the image of shepherd to describe ideal leadership, but a multiplicity of metaphors, all of which relate what a leader should be—slave, friend, midwife, father, ambassador, and overseer.

So what do we think of this proposal? Is Laniak undermining his 250 pages of careful exegesis in a couple of paragraphs? It’s tempting to dismiss the proposal on theological principles, as if he were undermining the authority and sufficiency of God’s word. Yet I’m not so sure. I don’t think this is a conversation about philosophies of Bible translation or radical contextualization. I think his remarks are more akin to a conversation about applying a sermon. Any time a preacher reads a passage of Scripture, and then says something like, “The author’s point here is kind of like the time when…” or “How does the biblical author’s meaning relate to us today?” In this sense, I’m moderately sympathetic with Laniak’s proposal.

Having said that, I will comment on a more pragmatic note, I don’t know that the idea of shepherding is that foreign to us. I’ve never done a survey, but are people today that unclear about what a shepherd does? And to the extent they are unclear, would it take that much work to fill out their understanding? Perhaps the image lacks the emotional resonance it would have had for a people in an agrarian culture. Maybe that’s why Paul didn’t use it very often with his urban audiences. I’m not sure.

In the final analysis, however, I believe that we can have absolute confidence in the clarity and sufficiency of God’s Word as it stands. Were more pastors to ambitiously pursue their jobs and lives as God’s call to feed…to gather . . . to protect . . . to guide . . . to know . . . His flock . . . at the cost of their own lives . . . and to throw off metaphors like CEO, comedian, entertainer, pollster, our churches would look very different. Laniak helps us to recapture such a vision.

By:
Jonathan Leeman

Jonathan Leeman is the Editorial Director of 9Marks, and an elder at Cheverly Baptist Church in Cheverly, Maryland. You can find him on Twitter at @JonathanLeeman.