簡體
書評
書評
書評:《枝與架》,柯林·馬歇爾與託尼·佩恩合著

柯林·馬歇爾和託尼·佩恩,《枝與架》,馬提亞傳媒,2009年出版

 

原文標題與鏈接:Book Review: The Trellis and the Vine, by Colin Marshall and Tony Payne

翻譯:王怡

 

人人都愛簡單的任務。因爲我們的日常生活常常複雜得令人沮喪,因此,我們都歡迎簡單。

許多基督徒都傾向於認爲,基督教事工是一件複雜的事情。然而,正如柯林·馬歇爾所主張的,「福音事工其實不是件複雜的事。它就是藉著禱告並靠著聖靈傳講神的話語,以此來培養更多的基督門徒。簡單地說就是興起門徒。」(151)

在柯林·馬歇爾和託尼·佩恩合著的《枝與架》一書中,他們直截了當與令人信服的觀點將爲牧者們就如何牧會這個話題帶去巨大的思想變革。在馬歇爾和佩恩看來,對於教會事工,我們僅僅需要多關注些枝子,少關注些藤架那麼簡單。但爲什麼要談論藤架和枝子呢?它們和教會事工有什麼關係?

實際上,藤架和枝子都是關於基督教事工的比喻。枝子代表教會事工中那些最爲核心的、與培育門徒相關的事工:在聖靈的能力中向會眾傳講耶穌基督的福音真道,從而帶來信眾的歸信與他們屬靈生命的成長。藤架代表著福音事工中需要的行政架構與支持,從而幫助教會事工的成長與興旺。比如,教會需要聚會的場地,教會也需要通過一些方式來處理財務事宜。比喻來說的話,枝子的生長需要一些藤架的支持。

教會需要什麼?一場關乎事工的思想變革

你們的教會事工如何?這是作者們提出的關鍵問題。許多教會專注於藤架以致於損傷了枝子。更不幸的是,「在很多教會中支架的工作確實取代了修護枝子的工作。我們(牧者)開會、維護教堂、參加委員會、委派工作人員、處理各項事務、籌集款項,做領導希望我們去做的事情。」(9)。由於最合適從事「枝子」工作的牧師已經在「藤架」工作中精疲力竭,這導致「枝子」工作只能草草了事。「而這正是『藤架』工作的問題所在:它佔據了關乎『枝子』的工作」(9)。因此,馬歇爾和佩恩主張,教會事工要改變這一情況,就需要一場思想改革。

他們從大使命開始著手,並清楚論證耶穌在馬太福音28:19提到的使命核心在於:教導使徒們要「使萬民做我的門徒」,而非「去」。因此,「教會的使命在於,使每間教會和每個基督徒都把培育門徒作爲首要任務來安排教會事工」(13)。教會必須以「培育門徒」作爲主要工作。但令人難過的是,傳統主義和實用主義常常轉變教會的話題,而它們對教會的影響也甚是微妙。它「並不總是導致嚴重的錯誤,更多的情況下,它使我們偏離我們的主要任務和目標——培育門徒」。(第15頁,強調)

因此,假使我們的焦點已經偏離了正道,那麼,一場回歸正道的思想變革就迫在眉睫:「從運營項目轉向培育門徒」;「從用人轉向育人」;以及「從尋求教會成長轉向渴求福音興旺。」(17-25)

對於這種變革會如何改變一間教會的事工,一個深刻的例子是,我們被告知想像一個「理智且可靠的基督徒」來向你尋求更多參與教會事工。作者注意到,許多牧者傾向於立刻開始思考「一些活動或項目」,或一些「TA可以參與或支持的事工」(26)。然而,牧者應該學著本能地引導這位關心教會事工的基督徒參與門訓工作,或「用從神而來的話語彼此勸勉」(27)。

樹立了「枝子」工作的基本理念——即「以福音爲中心的門徒培育」後,馬歇爾和佩恩開始詳細闡述他們的觀點。他們主張神在世界上的主要工作是「通過有聖靈同在的福音佈道來使靈魂得救」(35)。因此,新約強調福音的興旺以及「在神話語中的長進」(參見林前1:6),而不是以會眾人數和教會所做的決定來定義教會的發展。

顯然,「枝子」工作並不侷限爲牧者們的職責。相反的,「它對每一個門徒而言都至關重要。成爲一個門徒意味著成爲一個『門徒訓練者』」(43)。基督的每一個門徒都有這樣的特權與喜樂:「倚靠聖靈,將神的真理傳給他人。」因此,「枝子」工作隨時隨地可以發生——它可以在家裡、在聚會時,在社群中。本質上來說,它是一場「讀經運動」。

既然所有的門徒都要成爲「門徒訓練者」,那麼所有的門徒都會從如何門訓的訓練中受益。牧師必須將福音的善道傳遞給會眾(提後2:2)。這種「傳遞」包括活出以福音爲中心的生命見證。馬歇爾和佩恩識別歸納了福音成長中的四個基本階段:拓展、跟進、成長和訓練。這些標籤幫助牧師對會眾們一一分類,然後知道如何在門訓過程中幫助每一個個人。儘管週日早上的講道至關重要,沒有商量的餘地,但講道不能獨自完成所有的門訓工作。相反,教會裡需要一個像理查德·巴克斯特那樣的事工,強調「個人的訓誡和對會眾的教導」(105,引用巴克斯特的《新牧人》)。「枝子」工作的本質上其實是個人化的。

這本書的其餘部分包括了許多有用和實用的想法:如何招募和訓練福音同工(第九章),如何留意那些有恩賜的肢體來訓練他們(第十章),以及設立事工學徒的好處(第十一章)。最後,作者總結了如何開始推動教會更注目福音,更注重「枝子」的工作(第12章)。

耳目一新、合乎聖經、不可錯過

這是一本令人耳目一新的書。書中闡述的原則源於聖經並以福音爲中心。然而,我仍有一絲建議可能會改進書中的一些不足之處。將教會的關注中心從「藤架」調整到「枝子」的過程可能很難。有牧會經驗的牧者們都知道,傳統主義和實用主義常常培養出不願改變的教會領導者,即使問題重要如此,他們仍不願改變。不幸的是,推動「枝子」工作的過程可能會引發衝突與不和,而本書的兩位作者並沒有談論這點現實。這個轉變的過程需要大量的講道、耐心和禱告。

儘管如此,《枝與架》依然易讀並且極有幫助。它實在是一本對了解教會事工性質不可不讀的書。


許可聲明:你可以各種形式使用、複製與分發本文,但不允許修改文中內容(更正翻譯錯誤除外),不允許收取超過複製成本的費用,並且分發不得超過1000個拷貝。如果要在網絡或郵件中轉貼,請務必保留原文與譯文鏈接。任何例外需徵求九標誌中文事工的許可。

請在分發時保留本許可聲明。

作者: John Power
2020-01-20
教會植堂
七十二期

Book Review: The Trellis and the Vine, by Colin Marshall and Tony Payne

Review
07.12.2013

Colin Marshall and Tony Payne, The Trellis and the Vine. Matthias Media, 2009. 196 pp. $14.99.

 

Everyone loves simple tasks. Daily life is often frustratingly complicated, so we welcome simplicity.

Many Christians tend think that Christian ministry is one of those complicated things in life. Yet, as Colin Marshall and Tony Payne assert, “Christian ministry is really not very complicated. It is simply the making and nurturing of genuine followers of the Lord Jesus Christ through prayerful, Spirit-backed proclamation of the word of God. It’s disciple-making” (151).

Their book The Trellis and the Vine is a straightforward and compelling appeal to pastors to bring about a mind-shift in the way they do ministry. Marshall and Payne argue that ministry simply requires more attention on the vine, and less on the trellis. But what’s with this talk of a trellis and vine? What does it have to do with ministry?

The trellis and the vine are a parable of Christian ministry. The vine represents the central, disciple-making work of Christian ministry: preaching the gospel of Jesus Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit leading to conversion and spiritual growth. The trellis represents the structure and support gospel ministry needs to flourish and thrive. For instance, churches need somewhere to meet and some way to handle finances. In the terms of the parable, a growing vine needs some kind of trellis.

NEEDED: A MINISTRY MIND-SHIFT

So how’s the work going in your church? That is the pivotal question that the authors ask. Most churches fixate on the trellis to the detriment of the vine. And, unfortunately, “most of the trellis work…seems to fall to [the pastor] to organize—rosters, property and building issues, committees, finances, budgets, overseeing the church office, planning and running events” (9). The vine is therefore poorly tended because the most suitable vine-worker is exhausting himself on the trellis. “And that’s the thing about trellis work: it tends to take over from vine work” (9). Thus, Marshall and Payne contend that a mind-shift is required.

They begin their case by zeroing in on the Great Commission. They clearly demonstrate that the commission in Matthew 28:19 is fundamentally to “make disciples,” rather than to “go.” Thus, “It’s a commission that makes disciple-making the normal agenda and priority of every church and every Christian disciple” (13). Churches must make “disciple-making” their main agenda. But sadly, traditionalism and pragmatism often sidetrack churches. The effect is a subtle one. It “is not always that some terrible error becomes entrenched; more often it is that our focus shifts away from our main task and agenda, which is disciple-making” (15, emphasis added).

So if the focus has become misdirected, then a mind-shift is necessary: “From running programs to building people”; “From using people to growing people”; and “From seeking church growth to desiring gospel growth” (17-25).

In a poignant example of how this shift will change one’s ministry, we are told to imagine a “reasonably solid Christian” who comes to you seeking to be more involved. The authors note that many pastors are inclined to immediately begin thinking of “some event or program,” or some “ministry that [the person] could join or support” (26). Instead, pastors should learn to instinctively direct this thoughtful Christian toward people work, or “the prayerful speaking of [God’s] word by one person to another” (27).

Having established this basic mindset of vine work—gospel-centered disciple-making—Marshall and Payne proceed to lay out their case in more detail. They argue that God’s main work in the world is “Spirit-backed gospel preaching leading to the salvation of souls” (35). Thus the New Testament emphasizes gospel growth and the “increase of the word” (see Col. 1:6) rather than church growth defined in terms of numbers attending or decisions made.

Clearly, vine work is not limited to pastors. Instead, “It’s the basic agenda for all disciples. To be a disciple is to be a disciple-maker” (43). Every disciple of Christ has the privilege and joy of “speaking the truth of God to other people in dependence on the Holy Spirit” (49). Thus vine work happens in the home, the congregation, and in the community, and it is essentially a “Bible-reading movement” (57).

Since all disciples are to be disciple-makers, it follows that all disciples will benefit from training on how to do so. Pastors must pass on the good deposit of the gospel (2 Tim. 2:2). This “passing on” includes modeling a gospel-centered way of life. Marshall and Payne identify four basic stages in gospel growth: outreach, follow-up, growth, and training. These labels help pastors categorize individuals, knowing then how to help those individuals in the disciple-making process. And even though the Sunday morning sermon is vital and non-negotiable, it cannot do all the work on its own. Instead, a Richard Baxter-like ministry is required, with an emphasis on “personal catechizing and instructing the flock” (105, quoting Baxter’s The Reformed Pastor). Vine work is inherently personal.

The remainder of the book includes a good deal of helpful and practical ideas on how to recruit and train gospel co-workers (ch. 9), how to keep an eye out for particularly gifted individuals to train (ch. 10), and the benefits of creating a ministry apprenticeship (ch. 11). The authors conclude with some final words on how to start moving a church toward more gospel focus and more vine work (ch. 12).

REFRESHING, BIBLICAL, INDISPENSABLE

This is a refreshing book. Its principles are gospel-centered and biblically shaped. I’ve got one suggestion that might have made a minor improvement to the book. The process of adjusting a church’s focus onto vine work could prove to be difficult. As any relatively seasoned pastor knows, traditionalism and pragmatism often rear their ugly heads in opposition to change, even really important ones like this. A move towards vine work unfortunately may involve conflict and strife, and the authors do not really address this reality. Such a move requires a great deal of preaching, patience, and prayer.

Nonetheless, The Trellis and the Vine is both clear and immensely helpful. It is indeed an indispensible read on the nature of church ministry.

By:
John Power

John Power is the pastor of Georges Creek Baptist Church in Easley, South Carolina. You can find him on Twitter at @johnepower.